Hockey Canada Network |
Brooks Bandits win 2013 RBC Cup
May 19, 2013
2013 RBC Cup champions, the Brooks Bandits

SUMMERSIDE, P.E.I. – The Brooks Bandits have won the 2013 RBC Cup, Canada’s 43rd National Junior A Championship, with a 3-1 victory over the Summerside Western Capitals in front of a tournament-record crowd of 4,211 on Sunday night at CUP.

The national championship is the first for Brooks, which held the No. 1 spot in the CJHL Top 20 rankings for the final 22 weeks of the regular season. The Bandits are the eighth team from the Alberta Junior Hockey League to be crowned national champions, and the fifth to do it since the start of the five-team format in 1990. The Camrose Kodiaks were the last AJHL team to win the national title, in 2001.

Cam Maclise, named RBC CJHL Player of the Year at Friday night’s awards banquet, scored once and added an assist for the Bandits, who avenged their lone loss of the week, a 3-1 defeat at the hands of the Western Capitals on Tuesday night.

Maclise set up the game’s first goal, centering to Anthony Petruzzelli, who had a wide open net to give Brooks the 1-0 lead at the 7:17 mark, and Dakota Mason made it 2-0 just 80 seconds later, finding the five-hole on Summerside goaltender Kevin Bailie.

Chris Caissy got one back for the Western Capitals at 10:20, squeezing a shot through Brooks netminder Michael Fredrick, but the defences took over from there, with no scoring until Maclise clinched the win for the Bandits with an empty net goal at 19:30 of the third period.

Brooks allowed Summerside just 18 shots, including none in the first 12 minutes of the third period when the Bandits held a tenuous one-goal lead. Overall, Brooks held a 36-18 advantage in shots on goal.

The Western Capitals are the second consecutive team from the Maritime Hockey League to lose in the championship game after Woodstock fell to Penticton last year in Humboldt, Sask. Summerside was the first host team to advance to the final since Dauphin in 2010.

The 2014 RBC Cup will be held in May 2014 in Vernon, B.C., with the Vernon Vipers of the British Columbia Hockey League serving as the host team.

For more information on the 2013 RBC Cup, visit, or follow the tournament via social media at and

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - MON 2
Apr 24, 2014
Weyburn wrapped up its preliminary games with its fourth win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
Photo Credit: