Hockey Canada’s 96th annual meeting concludes in Ottawa, Ont.
December 6, 2014

OTTAWA Ont. – Hockey Canada’s 96th annual meeting, attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Saturday at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa after three days of discussion to benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.

The event coincided with the 100th anniversary of Hockey Canada on Dec. 4; a gala evening was held Thursday at the Ottawa Convention Centre to celebrate the milestone. The Hockey Canada Board of Directors also held a ceremonial meeting Thursday morning at the Fairmont Château Laurier, 100 years to the day after the first-ever meeting of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association.

Hockey Canada’s annual meeting brought together the governing body’s board of directors, life patrons, associate members and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.

As part of the final session on Saturday, the members of Hockey Canada elected a new board of directors.

Chairman: Joe Drago (Sudbury, Ont.) – elected by acclamation
Director: Michael Brind’Amour (Saint-Charles-Borromée, Que.)
Director: John Clements (Burlington, Ont.)
Director: Dean Filane-Figliomeni (Schreiber, Ont.)
Director: Al Hubbs (Indian Head, Sask.)
Director: Karen Phibbs (London, Ont.)
Director: Randy Pulsifer (Tantallon, N.S.)
Director: Ed Pupich (Schumacher, Ont.)
Director: Barry Reynard (Dawson Creek, B.C.)

Brind’Amour, Phibbs, Pupich and Reynard have been elected to two-year terms on the board of directors, while Clements, Filane-Figliomeni, Hubbs and Pulsifer have one-year mandates.

Drago replaces Jim Hornell (Grand Falls, N.L.), who had served as chairman of the Hockey Canada Board of Directors since May 2013.

“On behalf of the Hockey Canada Board of Directors and every single Canadian involved in hockey from coast to coast, we thank Jim for all of his efforts to make our game better,” said Drago. “His leadership over the last 19 months has led to significant change, and I am proud to carry on what he has started.”

As part of the annual meeting, the Hockey Canada Board of Directors took a strong stand on violent and aggressive behaviour at the grassroots levels of the game by approving a motion to adopt the Minor and Female Supplemental Discipline Chart.

After a very successful four-year pilot project with the Junior A supplement, the Minor and Female Supplemental Discipline Chart was developed with the same principles and is intended to hold players and coaches accountable for violent and aggressive actions in the game. Accumulations of major penalties, match penalties and fighting majors in minor hockey will be met with additional suspensions on top of the penalties and sanctions assessed during the game.

The motion from Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador to re-categorize the age groups in minor hockey has been deferred to next year’s annual meeting to allow for further review and research.

Due to governance changes, the Hockey Canada annual meeting has moved from its traditional late May dates to dates in the late fall, beginning with this week’s meeting.

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit, and follow along via social media at, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 3 – CZE 1 (Quarter-final)
Slobodzian scored the GWG on the PP to send Canada to the semifinals.