City of Summerside to Make History As First Three-Time Rbc Cup Host
November 26, 2012

The City of Summerside is ready to make a little history. When the puck drops May 11 on the 2013 RBC Cup, the Prince Edward Island city will become the first to host the National Junior A Championship three times since the host team was added to the tournament format in 1985.

Summerside also welcomed Canada’s top Junior A teams in 19.

Only one other city, Prince Albert, Sask., has had the national champion crowned on its ice three times (1977, 1979, 1982), but only once, in 1979, was there a round-robin tournament, which the host Raiders had to qualify for. The other years were a best-of-seven series between eastern Canada and western Canada champions.  

Since the start of the host-team era in 1985, the Western Capitals are one of just seven teams to win Canada’s National Junior A Championship on home ice, winning the national title in 1997.

“For the City of Summerside and the Summerside Western Capitals to be selected to host one of Hockey Canada’s premier events for the third time speaks volumes,” said Mayor Basil Stewart. “With the 2013 RBC Cup being hosted our state-of-the-art facility, it is shaping up to be the best RBC Cup in history.

“On behalf of myself and City Council, we thank the business community for the ongoing support each time we host prestigious events such as the RBC Cup. As a city we have been very fortunate over the years to have a strong partnership with local businesses. To have hundreds of visitors in our beautiful city this spring will be an economic benefit in a time that is generally somewhat slower.”

Local organizers have been working hard for months on all aspects of the event, from transportation and accommodations to team services and many more, and the city’s strong core of volunteers will have Summerside ready to welcome the nation in May.

Summerside and Humboldt, Sask. (19) are the only cities to have played host twice. Vernon, B.C., will join that group when it stages the 2014 RBC Cup. It previously welcomed the nation in 1990.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 3 – CZE 1 (Quarter-final)
Slobodzian scored the GWG on the PP to send Canada to the semifinals.