Canada's National Men's Summer Under-18 Team Wins Gold Medal at 2012 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka; Players and Staff to Return to Canada on Sunday, Aug. 19
August 18, 2012

PIESTANY, Slovakia – Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team has won the gold medal at the 2012 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament, defeating Finland 4-0 in Saturday’s gold medal game in Piestany. Canada has won the summer under-18 tournament five consecutive years and eight of the last nine.

On Saturday, Nathan MacKinnon (Cole Harbour, N.S./Halifax, QMJHL) scored a hat trick to pace the offence as the Canadians finished an undefeated run through the tournament, earning Canada’s 17th summer under-18 gold medal since 1991.

After a scoreless first period, MacKinnon gave Canada the lead just 1:14 into the second, and added a power play goal midway through the frame to double the Canadian lead. He finished off his hat trick in the third period with another goal on the power play, this time on a two-man advantage, with 12 minutes left.

Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Edmonton, WHL) also scored for Canada, while Zachary Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) earned the shutout with a 23-save performance as Canada outshot the Finns 44-23.

In Saturday’s bronze medal game in Breclav, Czech Republic, Sweden beat the Czechs 2-1.

Canada’s roster is made up of 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders, and features nine players from the Western Hockey League, seven from the Ontario Hockey League and six from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

Players and staff will return to Canada on Sunday, Aug. 19. See below for specific flight itineraries for Canada’s players.


Information is listed alphabetically by FINAL destination. Arrival times are all LOCAL TIMES. Flight information may change without notice.

Calgary, Alta. / AC133 / 8:10 p.m.
Josh Morrissey

Calgary, Alta. / WJ677 / 8:47 p.m.
Kayle Doetzel, Morgan Klimchuk, Shea Theodore

Halifax, N.S. / AC614 / 7:55 p.m.
Nathan MacKinnon

Montreal, Que. / AC832 / 6:13 p.m.
Jonathan Drouin, Zachary Fucale, Yannick Jean

Montreal, Que. / AC830 / 7:13 p.m.
Anthony Duclair, Jérémy Grégoire, Yan-Pavel Laplante

Ottawa, Ont. / AC460 / 6:09 p.m
Todd Gill

Timmins, Ont. / AC7831 / 7:37 p.m.
Ryan Kujawinski

Toronto, Ont. / OS071 / 2 p.m.
Chris Bigras, Eric Comrie, Max Domi, Bo Horvat, Darnell Nurse, Nick Ritchie, Jordan Subban, Scott Walker

Vancouver, B.C. / AC115 / 6:59 p.m.
Sam Reinhart

Vancouver, B.C. / AC137 / 7:57 p.m.
Curtis Lazar, Nic Petan

Winnipeg, Man. / AC269 / 8:34 p.m.
Madison Bowey

NOTE TO MEDIA: Francis Dupont, Hockey Canada’s manager of media relations, will be with the team in Europe for the tournament. He will be handling all interview requests and can be reached at +447540704016 or

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team and Hockey Canada, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
2016 MWC - CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Gold Medal)
McDavid and Duchene scored as Canada defended its world title.
2016 RBC Cup - WKW 4 – LLO 0 (Championship)
Greenfield made 48 saves to lead the Warriors to the RBC Cup title.
2016 MWC - CAN 4 – USA 3 (Semifinal)
Ellis got the winner early in the third, sending Canada to the final.
2016 RBC Cup - LLO 6 – TRE 2 (Semifinal)
Chynoweth scored twice, and the host Bobcats advanced to the final.