Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada's 93rd Annual General Meeting Concludes in Halifax, N.S.
May 27, 2012

HALIFAX, N.S. – Hockey Canada’s 93rd Annual General Meeting (AGM), attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Sunday at the Westin Nova Scotian after three days of discussion about what will benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.

Hockey Canada’s 2012 AGM brought together the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, partner organizations and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.

The board, as elected for the 2012-13 season, will be comprised of the 13 branch presidents, as well as:

  • Chairman: Michael J. Bruni, QC (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Executive vice-chair:
  • Jim Hornell (Grand Falls, N.L.)

  • Officers:

  • Claude Allain (Gatineau, Que.)
  • Michael Brind’Amour (St-Charles-Borromée, Que.)
  • Joe Drago (Sudbury, Ont.)
  • Terry Ledingham (Bon Accord, Alta.)
  • Ed Pupich (Schumacher, Ont.).

  • Past chair: Ken Corbett (Winnipeg, Man.)

  • Directors:
  • Joanne Hughes, Female Council (Cole Harbour, N.S.)
  • Barry Reynard, Hockey Development Council (Dawson Creek, B.C.)
  • Karen Phibbs, Junior Council (London, Ont.)
  • John Clements, Minor Council (Burlington, Ont.)
  • Dean Filane-Figliomeni, Senior Council (Schreiber, Ont.)
  • Ron Robison, Canadian Hockey League (Calgary, Alta.)

  • Advisor: James Mays, referee-in-chief (Prince Albert, Sask.)

  • Appointees:
  • Caroline Ouellette, female athlete representative (Montreal, Que.)
  • Gord Sherven, male athlete representative (Weyburn, Sask.)
  • Jean Labonté, sledge hockey representative (Ottawa, Ont.)

The Hockey Canada AGM delegates also recognized and thanked departing branch presidents and board members Shannon Bell (BC Hockey), Tom Donovan (Hockey New Brunswick), Brian Franklin (Hockey Manitoba) and Gene Power (Hockey P.E.I.), as well as one member of the advisory council Murray Costello (international director/IIHF Council member)

    Developments at this year’s AGM included:

  • the loyalty program/ Club Hockey Canada on schedule for a 2012-13 launch;
  • continued progress and discussion on a renewed governance framework being developed for 2014;
  • the Junior A pilot program for 2011-12 has been extended for two years for further research, with the immediate addition of stronger regulations to reduce fighting and on-ice violence;
  • branch updates, constructive discussion and positive feedback on the implementation of the zero tolerance contact to the head rules in minor and female hockey across Canada in 2011-12;
  • updates on Hockey Canada’s priorities: recruitment and retention, technology and e-learning.

    Host communities approved by Hockey Canada’s board of directors at the 2012 Hockey Canada AGM, subject to final agreements with host communities, were:

  • 2014 Esso Cup – Stoney Creek/Hamilton, Ont.
  • 2014 RBC Cup – Vernon, B.C.

Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting kicked off Thursday, May 24 and included a banquet on the evening of Friday, May 25 that honoured nine deserving award recipients who have all had a significant impact on the hockey community.

The 2013 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting will be hosted in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

For more information on Hockey Canada, its teams, events and programs, please visit

Follow Hockey Canada on its social media platforms at, and

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
Photo Credit: