Winnipeg Thrashers win 2011 TELUS Cup
April 24, 2011

ST. JOHN’S, N.L. – The Winnipeg Thrashers (West) have won the 2011 TELUS Cup, claiming Canada’s 33rd National Midget Championship with a 3-1 win over the London Jr. Knights (Central) in Sunday night’s gold medal game at Mile One Centre.

Justin Derlago scored the game-winning goal midway through the second period, Connor Lockhart and Corey Petrash added insurance goals 1:39 apart early in the third period and Teagan Sacher stopped 31 shots as Winnipeg became just the second Manitoba team to win the national championship, joining the 2004 Brandon Wheat Kings.

The gold medal is the seventh in eight years for the West Region; it has appeared in every gold medal game during that stretch, with only the Thrashers in 2008 failing to take home the national championship.

It took until the 9:16 mark of the second period for the first goal to be scored in Sunday’s game, with Derlago’s shot from a sharp angle sneaking past London netminder Craig Wood, who was named the tournament’s Top Goaltender at Friday’s awards banquet.

That was it for scoring until Lockhart buried a rebound on a Winnipeg power play 1:01 into the second period, and Petrash returned from getting second-intermission stitches on his forehead to make it 3-0 just 99 seconds later.

Cale Duberry ended Sacher’s shutout bid with six minutes to go, but that was the only goal the Jr. Knights could manage against the Winnipeg goaltender, despite outshooting the Thrashers 32-18.

In Sunday morning’s bronze medal game, the Lions du Lac St-Louis (Quebec) got a pair of third-period goals from Anthony Duclair to break a 3-3 tie and earn a 5-3 victory over the Vancouver North West Giants (Pacific), giving the Lions their sixth medal in as many trips to the National Midget Championship.

The 2011 TELUS Cup is the third and final event held in Newfoundland and Labrador during the 2010-11 season to help celebrate the 75th anniversary of Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador. Last August, Canada’s National Junior Team held its summer development camp at Mile One Centre, while the top four women’s teams in the world – Canada, Finland, Sweden and the United States – took part in the 2010 4 Nations Cup in St. John’s and Clarenville in early November.

The 2012 TELUS Cup will be held in April 2012 in Leduc, Alta., with the Leduc Oil Kings serving as the host team.

For more information on the 2011 TELUS Cup, visit, or follow the tournament via social media:


For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 5 – LLO 3 (Semifinal)
Calverley scored twice, and the Rangers advanced to play for gold.