Hockey Canada Network |
Clarenville Caribous and Bentley Generals to Meet in Championship Game at 2011 Allan Cup
April 15, 2011

KENORA, Ont. – After winning their semifinals on Friday, the Clarenville Caribous and Bentley Generals will meet for the 103rd Allan Cup, Canada’s National Senior Championship, on Saturday at the Kenora Recreation Centre. The championship game can be seen on TSN2 beginning at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.

Clarenville defeated the Dundas Real McCoys 4-1 in Friday’s early semifinal, while Bentley topped the Fort Frances Thunderhawks 7-2 in the late game.

Saturday’s game will mark the first championship game appearance for a team from Newfoundland and Labrador since the Corner Brook Royals made the second of back-to-back appearances in 1986. The 1986 Royals are the only Newfoundland and Labrador team to win the national championship.

Bentley is the first team since the 1994-97 Warroad Lakers to appear in four consecutive championship games, and will look to add a second Allan Cup to the national title it won in 2009. The Generals lost to the host team in 2008 (Brantford Blast) and 2010 (Fort St. John Flyers).

In the early game, Dale Sullivan scored just 18 seconds into the third period to break open a scoreless tie and the Caribous added goals from Ryan Delaney, Chris Sparks and Brad Crann in a span of 8:21 to advance to the final. Jason Churchill made 23 saves in the Clarenville goal, beat only by a Jerry Galway power play marker with 9.9 seconds remaining.

In the late semifinal, Paul Cabana, Don Morrison and Travis Brigley all scored twice as Bentley advanced. Morrison scored his pair on the power play 1:56 apart as the Generals opened up a 3-0 lead midway through the opening period and never looked back. Joe Vandermeer had the other goal for Bentley, which outshot Fort Frances 49-19. Ian Lockman and Ross Johnson scored the goals for the Thunderhawks.

The Allan Cup is one of the oldest club-team hockey competitions in North America, having been first competed for in 1908. Only once in the past 104 years, in 1945, has an Allan Cup champion not been crowned.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: