Hockey Canada Network |
Award Winners Announced for 2011 Esso Cup; Semifinals Set for Friday
April 21, 2011

ST. ALBERT, Alta. – Award winners for the 2011 Esso Cup, Canada’s National Female Midget Championship, were announced Thursday night at a banquet for the six participating teams.

The tournament’s awards committee named six recipients, with the awards based on the preliminary round games played from Sunday, April 17 through Thursday, April 21.

The 2011 Esso Cup award winners are as follows:

Top Goaltender – Morgan Glover, Edmonton Thunder (Pacific)

Top Defenceman – Emma Korbs, Toronto Aeros (Ontario)

Top Forward – Olivia Howe, Notre Dame Hounds (West)

Most Valuable Player – Morgan Glover, Edmonton Thunder (Pacific)

Most Sportsmanlike Player – Matana Skoye, St. Albert Slash (Host)

Top Scorer – Olivia Howe, Notre Dame Hounds (West)

The Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Award, which recognizes an active female player who demonstrates dedication and leadership in the game and whose characteristics reflect those of the award’s namesake, was also presented Thursday evening to Nancy MacMillan of West Prince, P.E.I.

Following five days of preliminary round action in the Performance Arena at Servus Place, the semifinal matchups are set for Friday, April 22.

The third place Toronto Aeros (Ontario), who finished the preliminary round with two wins, two losses and one shootout loss, will take on the second place Notre Dame Hounds (West), who completed preliminary games with three regulation-time wins, one shootout win and one shootout loss, at 12 p.m. MT.

The fourth place Kodiaks du Lac St-Louis (Quebec), who capped of the preliminary round with two wins and three losses, are up against the first place Edmonton Thunder (Pacific), who finished with four regulation-time wins and one shootout win, at 4 p.m. MT.

The St. Albert Slash (Host) and Kings County Kings (Atlantic) finished in fifth and six place, respectively, and have been eliminated from medal contention.

The semifinal games, along with the bronze medal game at 2 p.m. MT on Saturday, April 23, will be available online through FASTHockey at

The winners of both semifinals will move on to the gold medal game, which will air live on Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster TSN2 at 6 p.m. MT on Saturday, April 23.

Day passes during the playoffs are $15 each, while single game tickets for semifinals and medal games are $11 each, and can be purchased online by visiting the official 2011 Esso Cup website at or at the Servus Place box office in St. Albert.

The third annual Esso Cup, Canada’s National Female Midget Championship, is helping the City of St. Albert celebrate its 150th anniversary by bringing together the best female Midget hockey teams from across the country.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: