Hockey Canada Network |
National Junior Team Selection Camp Roster By The Numbers
November 29, 2010

Returning 2010 National Junior Team players:

3 – Jared Cowen, Calvin de Haan, Ryan Ellis 

Players who attended Canada’s National Junior Team development camp: 28

G (3) – Calvin Pickard, Olivier Roy, Mark Visentin

D (8*) – Tyson Barrie, Jared Cowen, Calvin de Haan, Simon Després, Brandon Gormley, Erik Gudbranson, Brayden McNabb, Dylan Olsen

F (16) – Carter Ashton, Casey Cizikas, Sean Couturier, Cody Eakin, Brendan Gallagher, Curtis Hamilton, Joey Hishon, Quinton Howden, Ryan Howse, Ryan Johansen, Zack Kassian, Louis Leblanc, Brad Ross, Jaden Schwartz, Riley Sheahan, Linden Vey

* Note – D Ryan Ellis did not attend camp, as a player who has already played for Canada in two World Junior Championships

“Minor Hockey / Hockey Canada branch breakdown:

12 – Ontario Hockey Federation 7 – BC Hockey 5 – Saskatchewan Hockey Association

4 – Hockey Manitoba, Hockey Quebec

3 – Hockey Alberta 2 – Ottawa District Hockey Association 1 – Hockey New Brunswick, Hockey PEI

Where they are playing:

17 players from the Western Hockey League (WHL) 11 players from the Ontario Hockey League (OHL) 6 players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) 4 players from U.S. college hockey 1 player from the American Hockey League (AHL)

Program of Excellence experience:

Thirty-three (33) of the 39 players have been a part of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence: Eighteen (18) of these 33 players have played in Canada’s National Under-18 Program: - Sixteen (16) for Canada’s National Summer Under-18 Team - Eight (8)  for Canada at the IIHF World Under-18 Championship

Twenty-eight (28) of these 33 players have been involved in Canada's Regional Under-17 Program;

Six players invited to the selection camp will be looking for their first-ever Program of Excellence experience on a regional or national team – Marcus Foligno, Ryan Johansen, Brandon Pirri, Riley Sheahan, Reilly Smith and Garrett Wilson.

In total, eleven players (including the six players listed above), have never played for a national team – JP Anderson, Tyson Barrie, Ryan Murphy, Brendan Gallagher and Linden Vey have only played on regional teams


Twelve (12) players (Tyson Barrie, Michael Bournival, Casey Cizikas, Brett Connolly, Jared Cowen, Calvin de Haan, Cody Eakin, Ryan Ellis, Marcus Foligno, Brayden McNabb, Mark Pysyk, Garrett Wilson) are currently captains of their respective teams, and fifteen (15) players are alternate captains

Vital statistics:

Average age: 19 years, 1 month, 23 days (as of ) By year of birth: 1991 (21 players), 1992 (14 players), 1993 (3 players) Youngest player: Ryan Murray (9/27/1993) Oldest player: Ryan Ellis/Dylan Olsen (1/3/1991) Average height: 6’0.5” Average weight: 193 lbs

NHL Entry Draft information:

Thirty-four (34) of the 39 players invited to camp have been drafted in either the 20 NHL Entry Draft; Eighteen (18) of the 34 NHL drafted players were first-round NHL draft picks, four (4) players were second-round NHL draft picks, and five more were selected in the third round; Three (3) undrafted players at Canada’s selection camp are all eligible for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft;

One undrafted player at Canada’s selection camp is eligible for the 2013 NHL Entry Draft;

One player, JP Anderson, was not drafted, but signed with San Jose as a free agent in the summer of 2010;

The Buffalo Sabres has the most prospects at this year’s camp, with four players. Twenty-one (21) NHL teams have players at the selection camp

4 – Buffalo 3 – Colorado,  Florida, Montreal 2 – Chicago, Edmonton, NY Islanders, Phoenix,  Tampa Bay 1 – Calgary,  Columbus, Dallas, Detroit, Los Angeles, Ottawa, Nashville, Pittsburgh, San Jose, St. Louis, Toronto, Washington


BUF – D – McNabb, Pysyk; F – Foligno, Kassian

CGY – F – Howse

CHI – D – Olsen; F – Pirri

COL – G – Pickard; D – Barrie; F – Hishon

CBJ – F – Johansen

DAL – F – Smith

DET – F - Sheahan

EDM – G – Roy;  F – Hamilton

FLA – D – Gudbranson; F- Howden, Wilson

LA – F – Vey

MTL – F – Bournival, Gallagher, Leblanc,

OTT – D – Cowen

NSH – D – Ellis  

NYI – D – de Haan; F – Cizikas  

PIT – D – Després

PHX – G – Visentin; D – Gormley   

SJS – G – Anderson  

STL – F - Schwartz

TB – F – Ashton, Connolly

TOR – F – Ross

WAS – F - Eakin

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: