Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada's Nine National Award Winners Announced AndrÉ Ricard of Quebec Named Outstanding Volunteer of The Year
May 28, 2010

MONTRÉAL, Que. – Hockey Canada honoured nine community leaders from across the country during an awards banquet Friday night, held as part of the governing body’s 91st Annual General Meeting at the Westin Montréal.

The award winners included André Ricard of Trois-Rivières, Que., who has been named the 2010 Outstanding Volunteer. For 11 seasons, Ricard has been president of Hockey Mauricie, which oversees 17 minor hockey associations, as well as 22 tournaments and four festivals annually. He has also helped host and promote both national and international events, including the 2001 National Women’s Under-18 Challenge and the 2008 IIHF World Championship, among many other accomplishments within the hockey world.

The nine award winners are as follows:

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award (outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey)

Julianne Fuller (Inuvik, N.W.T.)

Liz MacKinnon Award (special contributions of a Hockey Canada volunteer’s spouse)
Rose Delparte (Calgary, Alta.)

Hal Lewis Award (Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization)

Lesley Reddon (Calgary, Alta.)

Gordon Juckes Award (outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey at the national level)

Harley Hotchkiss (Calgary, Alta.)

Officiating Award (outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level)

Ian Heather (Winnipeg, Man.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Atlantic (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

Joe Maynard (Flatrock, N.L..)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Central (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

Don Yeck (Belmont, Ont.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – West (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

Sheldon Lanchbery (Deloraine, Man.)

Outstanding Volunteer Award (outstanding volunteer work in amateur hockey and Hockey Canada)

André Ricard (Trois-Rivières, Que.)

Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s officers of the board, or the appropriate Hockey Canada council. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the country.

More than 250 representatives from regional and provincial hockey associations are in Montréal for Hockey Canada’s 91st AGM, which started Thursday, May 27 and wraps up Sunday, May 30.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: