Hockey Canada Network |
2010 RBC Cup Begins Saturday in Dauphin, Manitoba
April 29, 2010

DAUPHIN, Man. – For the 40th time, Canada’s top Junior A teams have gathered, this year in Dauphin, to battle for the National Junior A Championship, beginning Saturday, May 1. This year marks the fourth time Manitoba has hosted the tournament, joining Flin Flon in 2001, Winnipeg in 1992 and Brandon in 1973.

The host team, the Dauphin Kings, are joined by regional representatives Vernon Vipers (Pacific), La Ronge Ice Wolves (West), Oakville Blades (Central) and Brockville Braves (East). The five teams will take to the ice at the Parkland Recreation Complex, hoping to earn one of the two berths in Sunday’s nationally-televised championship game.

The Vipers are looking to become the first team since Vernon in 19 to repeat as national Junior A champions, while also looking for their sixth national title, more than any other team. Vernon is the only team in the field to previously win the National Junior A Championship (1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2009), while Dauphin and La Ronge are making their debut at the national championship. The Kings are looking to become the first host team since Weyburn in 2005 to win the national title; they are 38-2-1 on home ice this season.

The gold medal game on Sunday, May 9 will be broadcast live on TSN at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT. It will be shown on tape delay on RDS at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT. Check your local listings for the broadcast time in your area.

In addition, all 10 round-robin games, along with both semifinals on Saturday, May 8, will be available via webcast through FASTHockey at All games are available on a pay-per-view basis for $6.99 each.

Ticket information for the 2010 RBC Cup are available by clicking HERE.

On Friday, April 30, the opening ceremonies will take place at the Dauphin’s Countryfest Cabaret at the Parkland Recreation Complex. There will be a barbecue at 5:30 p.m. (the first 1,000 people get a free pop and hot dog), followed by the introduction of the five competing teams at 7 p.m. A concert by country music star Charlie Major will follow. Tickets for the Charlie Major concert cost $20 and are available by calling the Dauphin’s Countryfest office at 204-622-3700 or 1-888-459-2010.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Jason LaRose, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of communications/content development, will be on site at the 2010 RBC Cup and will be the media contact for interviews, information or photos. He can be reached at 403-703-8791 or

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: