Hockey Canada Network |
2010 TELUS Cup Award Winners Announced
April 24, 2010

LÉVIS, Que. – Some hardware was handed out at the 2010 TELUS Cup on Saturday afternoon, as individual award winners were announced at a banquet at the Lévis Convention Centre.

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.) of the Notre Dame Hounds was named most valuable player. Koekkoek also grabbed top defenceman honours, one of two players to win multiple awards.

The other one was Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.) of the St. John’s Fog Devils, who took home the top scorer and top forward honours.

2010 TELUS Cup award winners

TELUS most valuable player/TELUS scholarship 

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.), Notre Dame Hounds

Top goaltender 

Scott Bray (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Top forward

Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Top defenceman 

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.), Notre Dame Hounds

Most sportsmanlike player

Alexandre Lemieux (Beloeil, Que.), Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard

Top scorer

Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Esso scholarship

Andrew Sullivan (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

The 2010 TELUS Cup continues on Saturday with two semifinal games. The St. John’s Fog Devils will meet the Notre Dame Hounds and the Mississauga Reps will take on the Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard.

The winners will advance to Sunday’s gold medal game at 2:30 p.m. ET, a game that can be seen on TSN and RDS (check local listings for specific broadcast times).

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: