Hockey Canada Network |
1990 and 1991 Teams to Re-Unite in Saskatoon
November 12, 2009

SASKATOON, Sask. – As part of Hockey Canada’s Team Canada Alumni Program, players from Canada’s 19 National Junior Team have been invited to Saskatoon to be honoured for their gold-medal winning performances.

The reunion was one of several exciting announcements made on Thursday in Saskatoon surrounding the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship.

Coaches Dick Todd and Guy Charron have confirmed their attendance along with manager Mike Murray and players Chris Snell, Mike Sillinger, Scott Thornton, Stewart Malgunas, Jason Herter, Mike Needham and Karl Dykhuis. One aspect of the reunion will be a New Year’s Day Brunch, hosted by BHP Billiton.

Tickets for the BHP Billiton New Year’s Day Brunch – which will take place from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at TCU Place in Saskatoon – are on sale through Ticketmaster.

“We’re excited to pay tribute to two teams that won gold medals for our country and really got the World Junior Championship buzz started,” says Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “These two teams were instrumental in laying the foundation for the success of our National Junior Team program.”

Other events announced include the BHP Billiton Ball Hockey Tournament on New Year’s Day at the Saskatoon Kinsmen Henk Ruys Soccer Centre.

“We have broken it into two divisions,” says Kim Gallucci, vice-president of special events in Saskatoon. “There is one division for families and teams who want to play for fun and the other division for the ball hockey teams that are more competitive.”

Teams will play 3-on-3 with a maximum roster of six players, and will be playing for tickets to the playoff and medal-round games in Saskatoon. The entry fee for the event is $100 per team.

Finally, it was announced that BHP Billiton has donated 1,000 tickets to schools in Saskatoon, along with youth groups and other organizations that will use the donated tickets to enable those without the financial resources to attend a game at the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship. Businesses are encouraged to join the ticket donation program by contacting the tournament office at 306-651-2185.

For more information:

Rob Jones

2010 WJC General Manager


Kim Gallucci

VP Special Events - Saskatoon


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
Photo Credit: