Roster Announced for Canada East/MJAHL Evaluation Camp
August 26, 2009

Thirty-eight Maritime Junior A Hockey League (MJAHL) players were invited to Halifax's Civic Arena in the Forum Complex for the third and final evaluation camp for Canada East at the World Junior A Challenge. The camp was held on August 23.

Canada East held three separate evaluation camps for the five eastern CJHL leagues (OJHL, NOJHL, CJHL, LHJAAAQ, MJAHL). The first camp was hosted by the Central Junior Hockey League on August 15 in Renfrew, Ont., and included 64 players from the CJHL, NOJHL and LHJAAAQ, and the second camp on August 22 in Richmond Hill, Ont., featuring 55 OJHL players.

The With the three evaluation camps now concluded, the Canada East coaching staff will scout players at games and events in Canada’s five eastern leagues before the final roster is named in mid-October.

The Canada East/MJAHL evaluation camp roster included:

Darcy Ashley; Summerside; Forward

Brad Badger; Campbellton; Forward

Wayne Bedecki; Halifax; Forward

Kody Blois; Halifax; Goaltender

Eric Boudreau; Amherst; Defence

Matthieu Boudreau; Pictou County; Defence

Sam Caldwell; Truro; Defence

Jason Cameron; Summerside; Forward

Donnie Churchill; Campbellton; Defence

Ben Clarke; Halifax; Forward

Justin Collier; Yarmouth; Goaltender

Josh Currie; Summerside; Forward

Bradley Dickson; Woodstock; Defence

Kyle Dilosa; Halifax; Forward

Zach Evans-Renaud; Campbellton; Defence

Ryan Fortune; Pictou County; Forward

Mitch Flynn; Woodstock; Defence

Sean Hoyt; Pictou County; Forward

Mike Hynes; Pictou County; Forward

Andrew Langan; Woodstock; Forward

Trevor Layton; Amherst; Forward

Luc LeBlanc; Dieppe; Defence

Stuart Lenehan; Halifax; Forward

Ryan MacDonald; Dieppe; Forward

Trent MacDonald; Pictou County; Defence

Nathan McQuaid; Miramichi; Defence

Justin Matthews; Amherst; Forward

Matt Milson; Miramichi; Forward

Travis Moore; Truro; Forward

Alex Newman; Pictou County; Goaltender

Ryan Nickerson; Yarmouth; Forward

Kody Orr; Amherst; Forward

Steven Popovich; Halifax; Forward

Kirk Rafuse; Truro; Goaltender

Shane Robar; Halifax; Defence

Ryan Taylor; Miramichi; Defence

Dillen Theriault; Dieppe; Defence

Evan Watts; Truro; Defence

Summerside, P.E.I. will host the 2009 World Junior A Challenge from November 1-8, 2009 at Credit Union Centre. The 2009 World Junior A Challenge will follow the same format as previous years – two Canadian entries will be joined by four international teams. Canada East captured the bronze medal in 2008, the first time in three years that it failed to reach the gold medal game.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 3 – CZE 1 (Quarter-final)
Slobodzian scored the GWG on the PP to send Canada to the semifinals.