Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada West and United States to Meet in Gold Medal Game at 2009 World Junior A Challenge
NR.159.09
|
November 6, 2009
|
|

SUMMERSIDE, P.E.I. – After posting semifinal wins on Friday, Canada West and the United States will meet for the gold medal on Sunday night at the 2009 World Junior A Challenge. The game can be seen live on TSN2, beginning at 5 p.m. AT/1 p.m. PT; visit www.tsn2.ca to find out how you can see the game in your area.

Sunday’s game marks the second time in as many years the two teams will meet for the top prize – the United States won gold last year in Camrose, Alta., with a 7-1 win over Canada West, ending the Canadians’ reign as champions. Canada West won the first two editions of the tournament, taking gold in 2006 in Yorkton, Sask., and 2007 in Trail, B.C.

Friday’s late semifinal was an all-Canadian battle between Canada East and Canada West. The game marked the first time since 2007 the two teams had met, and the first time ever outside of the gold medal game. The line of Connor Jones (Montrose, B.C./Vernon, BCHL), Kellen Jones (Montrose, B.C./Vernon, BCHL) and Cody Kunyk (Sherwood Park, Alta./Sherwood Park, AJHL combined for 11 points as the West routed the East 9-1.

Connor Jones tied a tournament record with five points (2g, 3a), Kunyk had a hat trick and an assist and Kellen Jones pitched in with a goal and a helper. Wes McLeod (Kamloops, B.C./Prince George, BCHL) also tied a tournament record, racking up four assists.

Earlier Friday, the U.S. earned the right to defend its 2008 gold medal with a 6-3 victory over Russia. Shane Berschbach, Jeff Costello and Colten St. Clair each had a goal and an assist for the Americans, who are following a similar path this year as they did to last year’s gold medal – after losing its opening game, the U.S. has won each of its next three games to reach the final game.

Canada East and Russia will meet for the bronze medal at 12 p.m. AT/8 a.m. PT.

Saturday’s fifth-place game between Sweden and Belarus (7 p.m. AT/3 p.m. PT) and Sunday’s bronze medal game can be seen live via webcast through FASTHockey at hockeycanada.fasthockey.com.

Tickets are still available for all three remaining games by visiting the box office at Credit Union Place, by phone at 902-432-1234 or online HERE.

Jason La Rose, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of communications/content development, will be on-site during the 2009 World Junior A Challenge for any tournament information or media requests. He can be reached at (403) 703-8791, or at jlarose@hockeycanada.ca.


For more information:

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

   
Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: