Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada's 2009 National Award Winners Announced Bob Clark Named Volunteer of The Year
May 16, 2009

VANCOUVER, B.C. – Hockey Canada honoured a number of Canadian hockey community leaders on Saturday night in Vancouver, B.C., at the organization’s award banquet, held during the Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting.

Among the award winners was Bob Clark of Carstairs, Alta., who was named the Volunteer of the Year. Clark was a coach of Midget and Juvenile hockey teams from 1961-66, was inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 1974 and went on to become general manager of the Olds Grizzlys of the AJHL. From 1998-2007, Clark served as chairman of the board for the AJHL and the Junior A chairperson for the Hockey Alberta board of directors. Clark continues to coach in Carstairs.

Nominees for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s officers of the board, or the appropriate Hockey Canada council. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada was pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey in Canada.

Cathy Phillips, Dundas, Ont. (Ontario Women’s Hockey Association)

Female hockey breakthrough award, which recognizes an individual for their outstanding leadership and contribution to the advancement of female hockey in Canada.

Bob Clark, Carstairs, Alta. (Hockey Alberta)

Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual who has dedicated himself/herself to the ideals of Hockey Canada, who has worked tirelessly for the improvement of the Association and who has had a notable impact on the game.

Doug Hayward, Kirkland, Que. (Hockey Quebec)

Officiating award, which recognizes an official, active or non-active, who has made an outstanding contribution to officiating, who has had a notable impact on the game at the Branch and National level.

Lauchie McIsaac, Antigonish, N.S. (Hockey Nova Scotia)

Order of merit (Atlantic), which honors those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey.

Lou Battochio, Schumacher, Ont. (Ontario Hockey Federation)

Order of merit (Central)

Bill Ennos, Victoria, B.C. (BC Hockey)

Order of merit (Western)

Wally Kozak, Calgary, Alta. (Hockey Alberta)

Gordon Juckes Award, which recognizes an individual for his/her outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the National level.

Corey McNabb, Calgary, Alta.

Hal Lewis Award, which recognizes a Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the commitment to the values and objectives of Hockey Canada, exhibits pride and respect for the organization and its participants and demonstrates team spirit both in the office and in one’s life. )

Denise Costello, Ottawa, Ont.

Liz McKinnon Award, which recognizes the contribution of a companion during the Annual General Meeting who personifies the character and spirit of Liz MacKinnon

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: