Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada to Face United States in Semifinal at 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship; Game to Be Tape Delayed on Tsn
NR.044.09
|
April 17, 2009
|
|

FARGO, N.D. – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team will face the United States in a semifinal at the 2009 IIHF World Under-18 Championship in Fargo on Friday, April 17. The game can be seen tape delayed at 11:00 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT on TSN and 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT on Saturday on RDS.

The game begins at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT. Live game statistics can be found at www.iihf.com.

Canada’s finished the preliminary round with a 4-2 win over Sweden on Tuesday, clinching first place in Pool A with three regulation wins and an overtime victory, while the U.S. defeated the Czech Republic 6-2 in a Thursday quarter-final.

The game marks the second time in three years the North American rivals will meet in a semifinal at the U18 world championship – in 2007, the U.S. scored a shootout win over the Canadians in Tampere, Finland. Canada has won two of six all-time meetings with the Americans at the IIHF World Under-18 Championship.

Finland and Russia will meet in the other semifinal; that game begins at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT.

TSN and RDS will also broadcast the bronze medal game and gold medal game on Sunday, April 19. The gold medal game will be shown live on TSN2 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and tape delayed to 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT on TSN and 3 p.m. ET/noon PT on Monday on RDS. The bronze medal game is scheduled for 4 p.m. EST/1 p.m. PT and will be broadcast live on TSN2 and RIS if it does not involve Canada, while it would be live on the main TSN network and RIS if Canada participates. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada
403-777-4553
jlarose@hockeycanada.ca

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
klipscombe@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: