Hockey Canada Network |
Saguenay, Que. to Host 2011 National Women's Under-18 Championship; Dawson Creek to Host 2012 Tournament
November 8, 2009

SURREY, B.C. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with Hockey Québec and BC Hockey, announced Sunday that Saguenay, Que. will host the 2011 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, while Dawson Creek, B.C. will host the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship.

The 2011 championship will take place from November 2-6, 2011 at the Centre Georges-Vézina in Saguenay, while the 2012 championship will be held from November 7-11, 2012 at the EnCana Events Centre in Dawson Creek.

With the Canada Winter Games scheduled for February 11-27, 2011 in Halifax, N.S., there will be no National Women’s Under-18 Championship in 2010.

The National Women’s Under-18 Championship brings together teams made up of the best young female hockey players from across the country. The tournament serves as an important platform for Hockey Canada scouts, who use it to help evaluate candidates for the National Women’s Under-18 Team, which plays in international events including the IIHF World Women’s Under-18 Championship.

“The City of Saguenay and the Chicoutimi Minor Hockey Association are proud and excited about organizing the next National Women’s Under-18 Championship,” says Saguenay mayor Jean Tremblay. “In November 2011, we want hockey fans in Saguenay to see the best young female players in the country.”

“The City of Dawson Creek is extremely pleased to have been awarded the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship,” says Dawson Creek mayor Mike Bernier. “We look forward to hosting this prestigious event and having the competing teams experience northern B.C. hospitality and support.”

The 20 championships will mark the ninth and tenth times the event has been held since its inception in 1993. It now takes place every November, except during hockey seasons when the Canada Winter Games is held.

Seven provincial teams and one regional team compete for the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, including 20 host teams Quebec and British Columbia, respectively.

"We are thrilled to have the National Women's Under-18 Championship returning to British Columbia," says BC Hockey president Rick Boekestyn. "Dawson Creek is an excellent location for the event and we look forward to working with Hockey Canada and the local host committee.”

“We’re very excited to award the National Women’s Under-18 Championship to Saguenay and Dawson Creek,” says Scott Smith, Hockey Canada’s chief operating officer. “Hockey fans in both cities will have the chance to see the future stars of the women’s game take to the ice in 20.”

The National Women’s Under-18 Championship boasts several high-profile alumni, from household names such as Hayley Wickenheiser and Gillian Apps to rising stars such as Marie-Philip Poulin and Brianne Jenner, who are all on the centralized roster for the National Women’s Team and currently training for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C.

The 2009 championship is taking place this week in Surrey, B.C., with the gold medal game between Ontario Blue and Ontario Red at South Surrey Arena set to air on Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster at 3:30 p.m. TSN2 today.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
Photo Credit: