2009 Esso Cup Award Winners Announced -- Semifinals Set for Friday --
NR.055.09
|
April 23, 2009
|

CALGARY, Alta. – The 2009 Esso Cup, the inaugural National Female Midget Championship, held its awards banquet on Thursday night. The tournament’s awards committee named the recipients of the five individual awards. The awards were based on the tournament’s round robin, which ran from Sunday to Thursday.

After an exciting week of round-robin play, the semifinals are set for Friday, April 24. 

The Calgary Flyers, who completed the round-robin undefeated, finishing with a 4-0 record after a 6-3 win over Westman Wildcats on Wednesday, face the Scarborough Sharks at 7:30 p.m. MT, while the other semi pits the Edmonton Thunder against the Wildcats at 2 p.m. MT. All four teams will battle for their place in Saturday’s gold medal game at the Max Bell Centre.

The bronze medal game will kick off at 10 a.m. MT on Saturday, April 25, followed by the gold medal game at 2 p.m. MT. The gold medal game will be broadcast live on TSN/RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada, beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT on TSN2, and will be shown on tape delay on the main TSN network at 12:30 a.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

   
Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca
   
Videos
Photos
2016 MWC - CAN 5 – USA 1 (Preliminary)
Duchene had a goal and an assist to lead Canada in its worlds opener.
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
Schedule
Close
Credit