Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada Names Roster for 2009 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship
March 13, 2009

CALGARY – Hockey Canada has named its National Sledge Team roster for the 2009 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship, scheduled for May 9-16 in Ostrava, Czech Republic. Canada is the defending world champion, having won gold in 2008 in Marlborough, Massachusetts.

The 15-player roster includes 14 players who helped Canada win gold at the 2008 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship, and 13 who were part of Canada’s gold medal-winning team at the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games in Turin, Italy. The roster includes one rookie, forward Matt Cook.

The world championship roster announcement comes one year to the day from the start of the sledge hockey tournament at the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver, BC, where Canada will look to defend its gold medal on home ice.

Over the next week, Hockey Canada’s official website,, will feature special sledge hockey-related content, marking the start of the one-year countdown to the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games, which will be held from March 12-20, 2010.

“We are excited to announce our roster today, and look forward to trying to defend our world championship,” said Jeff Snyder, head coach of Canada’s National Sledge Team. “With only one year to go until the Paralympics it is obviously in the backs of our minds, but we are focused on the Czech Republic and winning another gold medal for Canada.”

In addition to its 2008 gold medal, Canada was crowned world champion in 2000 in Salt Lake City, Utah. It finished fourth at the 2004 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship in Örnsköldsvik, Sweden.

Canada’s National Sledge Team is 12-1 during the 2008-09 season, winning gold medals at the 2008 World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Charlottetown, PEI in November 2008, 2009 4 Nations tournament in Nagano, Japan in January 20 Hockey Canada Cup in Vancouver, BC in March 2009.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - CHA 1
Apr 24, 2014
Harland had the winner to help the Young Nationals to the victory.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 4 – STC 3 (OT)
Apr 24, 2014
Alexandra Poznikoff scored 4:21 into overtime to win it for the Thunder.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
Photo Credit: