Humboldt Broncos Win 2008 RBC Cup
May 11, 2008

CORNWALL, ON – For the second time in five years, the Humboldt Broncos have won the National Junior A Championship.

Edward Gale scored the game’s lone goal late in the first period and Taylor Nelson made that goal stand up as the winner with a 30-save shutout performance as the Broncos claimed the 2008 RBC Cup with a 1-0 win over the Camrose Kodiaks on Sunday at the Cornwall Civic Complex.

The win came five years to the day – – that the Broncos won their first national championship, beating, ironically, the Camrose Kodiaks, 3-1 in Charlottetown, PEI.

With the Broncos on a powerplay nearing the 17-minute mark of the opening period, Gale stepped out of the corner and snuck a shot past Camrose goaltender Allen York – who was named the tournament’s top goaltender for the second straight year at Friday night’s awards banquet.

The goaltenders took over following Gale’s goal, as York and Nelson combined to turn aside all 38 shots they faced over the final 40 minutes in a classic duel of elite goaltenders.

Nelson saved his best stop for last, as he robbed Camrose sniper Joe Colborne on the doorstep with a glove save with just one second remaining on the clock and the Kodiaks enjoying a six-on-four advantage.

Humboldt won their third medal in three trips to the National Junior A Championship – in addition to their national title in 2003, they were runners-up in 1987 when they hosted the tournament, falling to the Richmond (BC) Sockeyes in the championship game.

The Kodiaks lost the championship game for the third time in five trips to the tournament – after winning their first, and only, national championship in their first trip, in 2001, the Kodiaks lost to Humboldt in 2003 and Weyburn in 2005 in the final game. Camrose lost a five-overtime semi-final to Prince George at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup, the only time in their five trips that they have failed to advance to the championship game.

Despite the loss, the Kodiaks set a RBC Cup (since 1996) record by allowing just five goals in their six games, breaking the mark of seven set by the 1997 South Surrey Eagles. York finished with a remarkable 0.80 goals against average, not allowing more than one goal in any of his five appearances.

The 2009 RBC Cup will be held in May 2009 in Victoria, BC, where the Victoria Grizzlies will be the host team.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: CAN 4 – ROY 1 (League)
Daoust had 2G 1A to help Canada to the win in the Esso Series finale.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.