Hockey Canada Network |
Joe Colborne Named 2008 RBC Canadian Junior A Hockey League Player of the Year
May 1, 2008

CALGARY, AB – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Junior A Hockey League (CJAHL) announced on Thursday that Joe Colborne of the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s Camrose Kodiaks has been named the 2008 RBC Canadian Junior A Hockey League Player of the Year.

In his second season with the Kodiaks, Colborne finished second in AJHL scoring with 90 points (33 goals, 57 assists) and took part in the 2007 CJAHL Prospects Game and 2008 AJHL All-Star Game. He also won a gold medal with Canada West at the 2007 World Junior A Challenge in Trail and Nelson, BC.

In the playoffs, Colborne led his team with 16 points (eight goals, eight assists) and was named AJHL Playoff MVP as the Kodiaks won their second consecutive AJHL championship and Doyle Cup and advanced to the RBC Cup, Canada’s National Junior A Championship for the second consecutive year and fifth time in eight seasons.

The 18-year-old Colborne, who is ranked 28th by NHL Central Scouting for the 2008 NHL Entry Draft, had a busy 2006-07 season, earning co-rookie of the year honours with the Kodiaks and playing in the 2007 AJHL All-Star Game and the 2007 Canada Winter Games with Team Alberta, winning a bronze medal. He was also named most sportsmanlike player at the 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Prince George, BC, where the Kodiaks lost in the semi-final, and took part in the National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team selection camp in his hometown of Calgary, AB.

In addition to his on-ice exploits, Colborne has been very involved with the Camrose community off the ice, working with a number of groups. He is also accomplished in the classroom, maintaining a 90% average in school despite his busy hockey schedule, and will continue his education and his hockey career at the University of Denver in 2008-09, where he will major in Business.

“RBC is very proud to support the Canadian Junior A Hockey League Player of the Year award,” said Mike Haley, RBC’s regional vice-president for eastern Ontario. “The award was designed to provide an opportunity for Junior A players to be recognized for their outstanding accomplishments both on and off the ice. We are continuously pleased by the strong applicants that we receive from across the country on an annual basis. Applicants who volunteer hours of their time to charitable initiatives, spend a great deal of their time in a classroom and excel in their contributions on the ice in a leadership and performance role are the type of student athletes we are happy to recognize. RBC is pleased to continue being a part of this important initiative and assisting in the development of Canadian athletes.”

Colborne beat out runners-up Jordie Johnston of the SJHL’s La Ronge Ice Wolves and Danny Mireault of the LHJAAAQ’s Action de Joliette, joining an elite group of winners including 2007 player of the year Kyle Turris, who made his NHL debut for the Phoenix Coyotes in April.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: