Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada Announces 2007 RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship Winners
March 30, 2007

CALGARY, AB– Hockey Canada announced on Friday the 2007 RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship winners. These annual scholarship awards provide financial assistance to players of the Canadian Junior A Hockey League (CJAHL) for post-secondary education.

The 2007 RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship recipients, one from each of the CJAHL’s ten leagues, receive $1,000 toward post-secondary education, with one national winner receiving $5,000. The winner of the national RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship was selected from a list of finalists by a national panel of Hockey Canada-appointed junior hockey representatives.

2007 RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship winners:

• Alberta Junior Hockey League – Kevin Luft – Sherwood Park Crusaders

• British Columbia Hockey League – Riley Whitlock – Cowichan Valley Capitals

• Central Junior Hockey League – Adam Marriner – Nepean Raiders

• Manitoba Junior Hockey League – Sean Kliewer – Portage Terriers

• Maritime Junior A Hockey League – Andrew Harmes – Truro (NS) Bearcats

• Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League – Brad Hummel – North Bay Skyhawks

• Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League – Ian Macdonald – Kingston Kimco Voyageurs

• Quebec Junior AAA Hockey League – Nicolas Lafontaine – Action de Joliette

• Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League – Evan Vossen – La Ronge Ice Wolves

• Superior International Junior Hockey League – Jacob Cahoon – Thunder Bay Bulldogs

The recipient of the $5,000 national RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship is Ian Macdonald – Kingston Kimco Voyageurs. Macdonald will be presented with his national scholarship award at the RBC Royal Bank Cup, which takes place May 5-13 in Prince George, BC.

Players eligible for the RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarships must be a Canadian citizen, on a Canadian Junior A team roster, and registered or applying for full-time post-secondary studies. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, hockey achievement, and community involvement.

All Junior A hockey players in Canada who currently attend a Canadian post-secondary institution are also eligible for the Nickerson Family Awards, which are made possible through the Friends of the RBC Royal Bank Cup Society in Fort McMurray, AB. Adam Marriner of the Nepean Raiders is the $1,000 winner, and Kevin Luft of the Sherwood Park Crusaders is the $500 winner.

Application forms for 2008 can be obtained from Junior A leagues in the fall of 2007 and a downloadable form will also be available on the Hockey Canada website.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
Photo Credit: