Road to the 2006 TELUS Cup
April 20, 2006

The teams are set for the start of the 2006 TELUS Cup in Charlottetown, PEI. All five regions have qualified a representative.

Pacific Region – The Calgary Buffaloes have qualified for a fifth time (1985, 1987, 1989, 1998). This will mark their first appearance since the 1998 Championship and they will look to continue their streak of medaling in all four previous appearances, including winning the Championship in 1989. Calgary qualified by defeating the BC representative Okanagan Rockets in two straight games by scores of 9-3 and 8-1.

Western Region - The Prince Albert Mintos will represent the West for the second time in Championship history, the first since they hosted the tournament in 1999, finishing fourth after losing in the Bronze medal game. Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) qualified for the TELUS Cup after winning the round robin regional tournament with the Tisdale Trojans (host), the Thunder Bay Kings (Hockey North West Ontario), and the Winnipeg Thrashers (Manitoba).

Central Region – The Toronto Junior Canadiens will make their debut at the 2006 TELUS Cup and are one of three teams playing in their first National Championship (host – Charlottetown Islanders). They are representing the Central region after winning the seven team Provincial Championship held in North Bay (Markham – OMHA, Toronto Junior Canadiens – GTHL, Soo – NOHA, London – Alliance, Gloucester Rangers – ODHA, Kanata Blazers - ODHA, North Bay Trappers – Host team).

Quebec Region - The Quebec region was the last to be decided as the Patriotes de Châteauguay defeated the Commandeurs de Lévis four games to two to capture the Jimmy Ferrari Trophy. Châteauguay will now represent the Quebec region at the 2006 TELUS Cup, it will mark their teams first ever appearance at the National Midget Championship.

Atlantic Region - The St. John’s Maple Leafs defeated the host Dartmouth Subways 2-1 to clinch a berth in the 2006 TELUS Cup. St. John’s has represented the Atlantic region at the Championship two previous times 2000 and winning bronze in 2003.

Host – The Charlottetown Islanders are the host team for the 2006 TELUS Cup. This will mark their first ever appearance at the National Midget Championship.


Calgary Buffaloes

1985 – Bronze

1987 – Bronze

1989 – Gold

1998 – Bronze

Prince Albert Mintos

1999 – Fourth

Toronto Junior Canadiens

First appearance in the Championship

Patriotes de Châteauguay

First appearance in the Championship

St. John’s Maple Leafs

2000 – Sixth

2003 – Bronze

Charlottetown Islanders

First appearance in the Championship

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 5 – RUS 1 (Bronze Medal)
Guay scored once and added two assists, helping Canada to bronze.
2017-18 NWU18T: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Semifinal)
Adzija had a goal and an assist, but Canada fell short in a shootout.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – FLA 2 (League)
Rougeau and Nurse had 1G 1A each, and Canada hung on for the win.
2017-18 NWU18T: CAN 3 – CZE 1 (Quarter-final)
Slobodzian scored the GWG on the PP to send Canada to the semifinals.