2006 Esso Women's Award Winners Announced
March 11, 2006

SYDNEY, NS – The 2006 Esso Women’s National Championship awards banquet took place on Saturday night as the tournament’s most valuable players in each Pool were honoured. 

The award winners for the 2006 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship are as follows:

  • Most Valuable Player - Pool A: Annie Derosiers (QC) / Pool B: Mary McKinnon (PEI)
  • Top Goaltender - Pool A: Charline Labonte (QC) / Pool B: Brandy MacLellan (PEI)
  • Top Defensemen - Pool A: Carole Leblanc (NB) / Pool B: Laura Shearer (NS)
  • Top Forward - Pool A: Jayna Hefford (ON) / Pool B: Kim Houde (MB)
  • *Mickey Walker - Most Sportsmanlike Player – Ashley Dunphy (NFLD)
  • Most Sportsmanlike Team – New Brunswick
  • **Isobel Gathorne Hardy Award – Melanie McFarlane

* The Mickey Walker Sportsmanlike Player is selected from the team nominees. 

This year’s nominees were:

AB – Meagan Walton

BC – Jen Mahovlich

MB – Sheila Kocay

NB – Hannah Muir

NFLD – Ashley Dunphy

NS – Alynn Doiron

ON – Lesley Zimmer

PEI – Marion Clarke

QUE – Lisa-Marie Breton

**The Isobel Gathorne Hardy Award is attributed to an active player, at any level of the game, whose values, leadership and personal traits are representative of all female athletes. The award recognizes a player that has demonstrated strong community involvement and dedication to the game of hockey.

The 2006 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship gold medal game will take place on Sunday afternoon and will feature Quebec vs. Ontario at 1:30pm AT, (12:30pm ET) at Centre 200 in Sydney, Nova Scotia. The game will be broadcast live on Hockey Canada’s Official Broadcast TSN/RDS. The bronze medal game will feature New Brunswick versus Alberta at 9:00am AT, (8:00am ET) at Centre 200.

For the complete schedule of the 2006 Esso Women’s National Championship and live real time statistics for each game click here.

FOR MEDIA RELATIONS INQUIRIES: contact Mathieu Litalien who will be on-site at 403-703-8791 (cell).

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
HCF: Hockey comes to Halifax for gala and golf
13th annual Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf,
Coming together for Congress
Hockey leaders from across the country gathered in Moncton, N.B., for Hockey Canada’s Spring Congress
2016 RBC Cup - WKW 4 – LLO 0 (Championship)
Greenfield made 48 saves to lead the Warriors to the RBC Cup title.
2016 MWC - CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Gold Medal)
McDavid and Duchene scored as Canada defended its world title.