Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada's 2005 Annual General Meeting Concludes in Saint John, NB
Rene Marcil New Chair of Board, 2007 Event Locations Announced
May 24, 2005

SAINT JOHN, NB – Hockey Canada’s 2005 Annual General Meeting, which was attended by over 400 delegates from across Canada, concluded on Tuesday  in Saint John, NB with decisions made on key issues, as well as confirmation on locations of 2007 national championships.

Hockey Canada’s AGM brings together representation from each of the 13 Hockey Canada member branches who make up the Hockey Canada Board of Directors, along with life members, representatives from various organizations, and the various Hockey Canada councils: Female, Junior, Minor, Senior and Hockey Development.

A summary of the decisions approved by the Hockey Canada Board of Directors during this year’s AGM include:

  • The Canadian Development Model was passed effective immediately. The age eligibility for Junior players has been restructured to a limited number of 16 year olds playing Junior hockey and no 15 year olds (with the exemption of the “exceptional player”). The number of active cards has been increased from 21 to 23
  • Hockey Canada Insurance Committee secured a “National Directors & Officers Liability Insurance policy” through BF Lorenzetti and Associates for the 2005-06 season, which provides coverage for Hockey Canada’s Branches, minor hockey associations, volunteers, leagues and teams
  • Hockey Canada will move ahead with the development of the World Junior A Challenge property with the first event to take place in the fall of 2006


Allan Matthews has completed his two year term as Chair of the Board for Hockey Canada and will now assume the role of Past Chair for the next two years replacing Sheldon Lanchbery. René Marcil of St-Louis-de-France, QC is now the Chair of the Board for Hockey Canada and will hold the position for two years.

Dr. Allan Morris of Wiarton, ON was voted by the board to the position of Executive Vice-Chair for the next two years.

The Officers of Hockey Canada for the 2005-2006 season:

René Marcil - St-Louis-de-France, QC - Chair of the Board

Dr. Allan Morris - Wiarton, ON - Executive Vice-Chair

Allan Matthews - Williams Lake, BC - Past chair

Claude Allain – Gatineau, QC – Vice-char at Large

Mike Bruni - Calgary, AB - Vice-chair at Large

Ken Corbett - Carleton Place, ON - Vice-chair at Large

Jim Hornell - Grand Falls-Windsor, NF - Vice-chair at Large

Marcel Redekop - Herbert, SK - Vice-chair at Large

Hockey Canada’s council chairs for the 2005-2006 season:

Gay Hahn - Vancouver, BC - Chair – Female Council

Lorne Wilm – Central Butte, SK - Chair – Senior Council

George Kallay - Drumheller, AB - Chair – Hockey Development Council

Wayne Kartusch - Regina, SK - Chair – Junior Council

Jack Forsyth – Hartney, MB - Chair – Minor Council

Sheldon Lanchbery - Deloraine, MB - International Director

Maurice Roy - Grand Falls, NB - Referee-in-Chief


Bid presentations for the hosting of Hockey Canada’s 2007 National events were heard by various Hockey Canada Councils during this year’s AGM. Councils brought forth recommendations to Hockey Canada’s Board of Directors, who then approved the following event hosting locations (dates are TBD)

  • 2007 RBC Royal Bank Cup -  Prince George, BC
  • 2007 TELUS Cup – Red Deer, AB
  • 2007 Allan Cup – Stoney Plain, AB

2005-2006 National Championship event locations and dates are as follows:

  • 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup May 6-14, 2006 Streetsville, ON
  • 2006 Allan Cup April 17-22, 2006 Powell River, BC
  • 2006 Esso Women’s National Championship March 8-12, 2006 Sydney, NS
  • 2006 TELUS National Midget Hockey Championship April 24-30, 2006 Charlottetown, PEI
  • 2005 Women’s National Under 18 Championship November 9-13, 2005 Salmon Arm, BC
  • 2006 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge Dec. 29-Jan. Regina, SK


Hockey Canada will celebrate its third annual ‘Hockey Canada Week’, a national celebration of the game of hockey in Canada at all levels, which will be celebrated across Canada from November 5-12, 2005.

The 2006 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting will be held May 19-23, 2006 in St. John’s, NL.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: