Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada’s 2005 National Award Winners Announced; Jim Kinkley Named Volunteer of the Year
May 23, 2005

SAINT JOHN, NB - On Monday evening, Hockey Canada handed out its annual awards during its Annual General Meeting, recognizing outstanding volunteers and achievements in hockey in Canada. Nominees were submitted to Hockey Canada by its 13 member Branches, and the winners were voted on by Hockey Canada’s officers (or the appropriate Hockey Canada council).

Hockey Canada Award winners for 2004-2005 were:

Jim Kinkley – Richmond Hill, ON


Volunteer of the Year Award

Ted Hargraves – Nelson, BC


Gordon Juckes Award (contribution to development of hockey)

Angela James – Richmond Hill, ON


Female Breakthrough Award (promotion/contribution to female hockey)

Benoit Noël – Acton Vale, QC


Order of Merit (Central)

Mac MacLeod – Manville, AB


Order of Merit (West)

Lyle Wilhelm – Moose Jaw, SK

Dean McIntosh


Hockey Canada

Officiating – Hockey Canada Official of the Year

Hal Lewis Award – Hockey Canada staff person of the year

Mark McMahon


Liz McKinnon Award – Spousal award of a Hockey Canada volunteer

Jim Kinkley, of Richmond Hill, ON received Hockey Canada’s Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and Hockey Canada. Kinkley has been involved in the administration of hockey for 33 years with the OMHA, where he was elected to the Executive in 1968 and has served ever since. Kinkley is a former president and now life member of the OMHA, and once served as Director of the CAHA (Hockey Canada) Minor Hockey Council.

Ted Hargraves, of Nelson, BC, received the Gordon Juckes Award which recognizes the outstanding contribution of an individual to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the National Level. Ted has been involved with coaching for a number of years and is largely responsible for writing and illustrating a number of hockey’s National Coach Certification Program’s skills and instructional manuals. Besides being a Master Course Conductor for the NCCP, Ted was the Head Coach for Team BC at the 1991 Canada Winter Games. Ted is also a former Olympic medalist having won a bronze medal with Team Canada’s Men’s Hockey Team at the 1968 Olympics in Grenoble. 

Angela James, of Richmond Hill, ON, received Hockey Canada’s Female Breakthrough Award, which honours an individual who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and/or development of female hockey in Canada. Angela was a pioneer in women’s hockey and is regarded as one of the best female hockey players to ever play. Angela is currently coaching the North York Aeros and officiating female hockey in the OWHA. Angela is a four time World Champion and still amongst the top scorers in female hockey’s career scoring leaders.

 Hockey Canada Order of Merit Award was instituted in 1960 to "honor those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey." The Order of Merit Award is presented annually to recipients in up to three regions of the country: Western, Central and Atlantic. This year’s Hockey Canada Order of Merit recipients were Malcolm (Mac) MacLeod (West) of Manville, AB and Benoit Noël (Central), of Acton Vale, QC.

Mac MacLeod, a former Hockey Alberta president, has coached and volunteered in hockey for over 60 years. In 1998 he was the recipient of the Hockey Alberta Presidents Award, and in 2003 Mac was recognized as a Hockey Alberta Life Member and awarded the Queens Golden Jubilee Medallion.  An Atlantic Order of Merit award was not honoured this year.

Benoit Noël is a former President of the Acton Vale Minor Hockey Association, the Intercity Hockey League in Eastern Township, and the Quebec Hockey League. Benoit helped form the Quebec Ice Hockey Federation as a member of the Board. He was honoured by the Quebec Ice Hockey Federation under the Builder’s category in 1991, and received the President’s Trophy in Quebec for service in minor hockey in 1994.  

Lyle Wilhelm of Moose Jaw, SK was named the Hockey Canada Official of the Year. Lyle has been involved with the game of hockey as a player, coach, administrator and a level Vl official. He is a former official of the WCHL (now the WHL) and the SJHL. As a former SHA Referee-in-Chief for nine years, Lyle was awarded a Life Membership with the SHA Referees Division.

The Hal Lewis Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the game of hockey by a staff member of Hockey Canada. This year’s award went to Hockey Canada employee Dean McIntosh. McIntosh has worked with Hockey Canada for six years as Manager of Coaching, and is playing a large role in the implementation of the new coaching certification program (CBET).

The Liz MacKinnon Award is in honour of former Hockey Canada President Bob MacKinnon's wife, Liz MacKinnon, and recognizes a Hockey Canada delegate's companion for his or her support. For 2004-2005, the Award went to Mark McMahon.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: