Hockey Canada Network |
2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup Set For Weyburn, Saskatchewan
May 3, 2005

WEYBURN, SK– Weyburn is in the final preparations to host the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup, Canada's National Junior "A" Hockey Championship from May 7-15. All championship games will be played at the Weyburn Colosseum.

Five teams are taking part in this year’s championship: the Camrose Kodiaks (AB) from the Pacific region, the Portage Terriers (MB) from the Western region, the Georgetown Raiders (ON) from the Central region, the Hawkesbury Hawks (ON) from the Eastern region and the host team, the Weyburn Red Wings (SK).

The teams will play round-robin games from May 7-12 with the top four teams qualifying for the playoff round. The semi-final games (first against fourth, second against third) will be held on May 14th, with the gold medal game scheduled for May 15th.

The gold medal game will be played at 5:30 (Local) 7:30 p.m. (ET) on Sunday, May 15 and will be broadcast live across Canada on the official broadcaster of Hockey Canada, TSN and RDS.

In addition to the games, this year’s event will again feature many activities throughout the championship. These include special parents brunch, scouting programs, tailgate parties, school programs that will bring the athletes into local schools, golf tournament and special Pep Rally to start the event. The championship will also feature entertainment in the Homestead Centennial Lounge next door to the Weyburn Colosseum.  

“The RBC Royal Bank Cup will not only be a great hockey tournament, but it also will be a community celebration,” said Charlene Luffman, RBC Branch Manager, Weyburn. “RBC and all of our employees here in Weyburn are looking forward to a great event.”  

For the second year the RBC Royal Bank Cup will have complete on-line Real Time statistics available at The stats program displays an on-line version of the games score sheet as it happens, including all tournament leaders and team by team statistics. The site will also feature daily stories and photos each day.  

Based on their individual performances during the six-day round-robin section of the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup, six individual player awards will be presented. The player judged by an independent panel as the outstanding performer will receive the RBC Royal Bank Cup Most Valuable Player award.  The other individual awards include the RBC Royal Bank Cup Top Scorer, Top Goaltender, Top Forward, Top Defenseman and Most Sportsmanlike Player. Each player will receive a 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup award, a Timex watch and a sports package courtesy of ITECH Sports Products Inc. for their accomplishments.

In addition to these Championship awards the 2005 RBC Financial Group Junior A Scholarship National Winner
and the 2005 RBC Financial Group CJAHL Player of the Year will be presented at the Awards Banquet.     

Notable alumnus who have played in previous Royal Bank Cups include Rod Brind’Amour (Carolina Hurricanes), Scott Gomez (New Jersey Devils), Greg Johnson (Nashville Predators), Curtis Joseph (Detroit Red Wings), and Scottie Upshall (Nashville Predators)

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: