Hockey Canada Network |
Toronto Aeros Take Home Their Second Straight Esso Women's National Championship; Brampton Thunder Receive The Silver Medal and Quebec Wins Bronze
March 13, 2005

SARNIA, ON – The Toronto Aeros, representing the Team Ontario as the host team, took home the Abby Hoffman Cup as the 2005 Esso Women’s National Hockey Champions by defeating the Brampton Thunder (Team Ontario) 2-1 in Sunday’s gold medal game.  The win marks the second consecutive year that the Aeros have won the Esso Women’s National Hockey Championship, and marks the Aeros third Esso Championship in the past six years.

Team Quebec beat Team BC 4-2 on Sunday afternoon to capture the bronze medal at the 2005 Esso Nationals.

Sunday’s Gold medal game was played before a vocal crowd of 2,990, and was broadcast LIVE coast-to-coast on Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster TSN/RDS.

After almost two periods of scoreless play, Thunder forward Vicky Sunohara, a member of Canada’s National Women’s team, scored a power-play goal to put the Thunder up 1-0 after two periods.  But the third period was all Toronto Aeros in scoring.

Jennifer Botterill, also a member of Canada’s National Women’s team, scored the winning goal of the game for the Aeros with 1:14 remaining in the game.  Botterill received a pass from Aeros teammate Sommer West who was behind the Thunder net on the forecheck, and then put the puck past Thunder goaltender Lisa Moreland. Heather Logan scored the Aeros other goal. Both of the Toronto Aeros goals were scored shorthanded. 

Moreland and Aeros goaltender Sami Jo Small each made 20 saves.  Small was named player of the game for the Aeros, and Sunohara was Brampton’s player of the game.

The Aeros took the long way to the gold medal game at the 2005 Esso Nationals, finishing third in pool A.  The Aeros then defeated Team New Brunswick in the quarterfinals by a convincing 4-0 score and handled Team BC 4-0 in Saturday’s semi-final to reach today’s gold medal game.  Cheryl Pounder, the 2005 Tournament MVP and current National Women’s Team player, was a leader throughout the tournament for the Toronto Aeros. 

The Thunder breezed through round robin play with a perfect 5-0-0 record, outscoring their opponents 36-5 going into Sunday’s gold medal game.  Jayna Hefford, who was named Top Forward of the event, was strong throughout the tournament and led all scorers with 10 goals and 10 assists in six games.  Teammate and fellow National Team member Vicky Sunohara was equally as explosive and finished the tournament with 15 points.

Earlier in the day, Team Quebec beat Team BC 4-2, to win the bronze medal.  Down 2-1 with less than 10 minutes remaining in the third period, Quebec exploded for three straight unanswered goals to secure the victory.  Team BC’s Jennifer Price, the Tournament’s Top Goaltender for the second straight year, was outstanding once again, stopping 57 of 61 shots for Team BC in the bronze medal game and was named BC’s Player of the game.  Quebec was led by standout defenceman Angela Ruggiero who scored two of Quebec’s three goals in the final 10 minutes.  Ruggiero, the Top Defenseman at the 2005 Esso Women’s Nationals, was named Quebec’s player of the game.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: