Hockey Canada Network |
Award Winners Announced for 2004 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship
March 12, 2005

SARNIA, ON - The 2005 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship Awards Committee announced its individual award winners on Saturday evening. The presentations were made during the annual championship awards banquet which was held at Lambard hotel in Sarnia, ON.

The award winners for the 2005 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship are as follows:

  • Most Valuable Player - Pool A: Cheryl Pounder (ON) / Pool B: Chelsea Gilbert (NB)
  • Top Goaltender - Pool A: Jennifer Price (British Columbia) / Pool B: Robin Rittmaster (NB)
  • Top Defensemen - Pool A: Angela Ruggiero (QC) / Pool B: Sharla Cowling (MB)
  • Top Forward - Pool A: Jayna Hefford (ON-H) / Pool B: Isabelle Aube (NB)
  • Mickey Walker - Most Sportsmanlike Player - Sara Matheson (NB)
  • Most Sportsmanlike Team - Newfoundland/Labrador
  • *Isobel Gathorne Hardy Award - Cathy Phillips (ON)

*The Isobel Gathorne Hardy Award is attributed to an active player, at any level of the game, whose values, leadership and personal traits are representative of all female athletes. The award recognizes a player that has demonstrated strong community involvement and dedication to the game of hockey.

The 2005 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship gold medal game will take place on Sunday afternoon and will feature Host Team Ontario vs. Team Ontario at 3:00pm (ET) at the Sarnia Sports and Entertainment Centre (ON). The game will be broadcast live on TSN/RDS. The bronze medal game will feature Team British Columbia versus Team Quebec at 11:00am (ET) at the Sarnia Sports and Entertainment Centre.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: