Hockey Canada Network |
Canadian Officials get the call for IIHF World Junior Championship and the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
December 14, 2004

CALGARY, AB – Hockey Canada is pleased to announce that Chris Savage and Chris DeHaan have been selected to officiate at the 2005 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship in Grand Forks, ND Dec.25-Jan.4, which will be the first time either have officiated the World Junior “A” pool Championship.  Hockey Canada also announced on Monday the list of officials for the 2004 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Lethbridge, AB (Dec. 29-Jan.4).


Savage, a 33 year old from Saskatoon, SK, has been officiating for over 18 years and is level 6 certified. This will be his 6th season in the WHL. Chris was the referee for the gold medal game of the 2004 IIHF Men’s World Championship “B” pool in Norway, the 2004 Memorial Cup final, and the 2003 and 2004 WHL Championships. Chris and his wife Lisa have two boys (Carsten and Dawson) and have recently moved to Medicine Hat, AB.

DeHaan, a 30 year old from Abbotsford, BC, has been officiating for over 13 years and is level 4 certified. This will be his 11th season in the WHL. Chris has officiated two Memorial Cup finals (2001 and 2004), and his international experience includes the 2000 IIHF World Under-20 “C” pool Championship in Nagano, Japan, and the 2004 IIHF World Under-18 Championship in Minsk, Belarus. Chris and his wife have two daughters and currently reside in Abbotsford.  


Hockey Canada also released it’s list of 17 officials from across Canada that will be officiating the 2005 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge being held in Lethbridge, AB from Dec.29-Jan.4.

The referees for the U-17 event will be Andrew Guest (BCAHA), Ghislain Hebert (HNB), Michael Marley (OHF), Pascal St. Jacques (HQ), Reagan Vetter (SHA) and Ross Bain (OHF).

The officials selected to be linesmen are Brandon Liefke (BCAHA), Chris Carlson (HA), Chris Oatway (PEIHA), George Gray (ODHA), J.P. Sylvain (HQ), Jeff Jobson (HA), Kiel Murchison (BCAHA), Mitchell Kirkup (HM), Michael McCreary (OHF), Michael Michalski (OHF), and Tom Clarkson (HNB).

The officials selected for the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge are participants in the OPOE (Officials Program of Excellence). This program is designed to assist in the identification of talented officials in Canada and to help develop them.

Maurice Roy, Hockey Canada Referee-in-Chief, is pleased with the up and coming officials Canada continues to develop, “We are extremely proud of the group of officials we are sending to this year’s World Under-17 tournament. They are a great example of the quality of officials we have from coast to coast in this country.”

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: