Hockey Canada Network |
Semi-Finals Set for 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup Awards & Scholarship Handed Out
May 14, 2004

GRANDE PRAIRIE, AB – Four teams are set to go head to head to earn a berth in the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup Championship game. The Championship game will be played at the Crystal Centre in Grande Prairie at 5:30pm (MT), 7:30pm (ET) on Sunday, May 16 and will be broadcast live across the country on The Sports Network, TSN and its french equivalent, RDS.

In Saturday’s second semi-final, the first place Grande Prairie Storm (Host) will face the Kindersley Klippers (West Region) at 7:30pm (MT) at the Crystal Centre. Grande Prairie finished the round robin portion of the tournament with a 3-1 record, while Kindersley wrapped up the round robin with a 1-3 record. The two clubs faced each other on the Saturday of round robin play, with Grande Prairie coming out on top 5-3.

The Aurora Tigers (Central Region) will face off against the Nepean Raiders (East Region) in Saturday’s first semi-final at 2:00pm (MT). Aurora finished the round robin with a 3-1 record, while Nepean finished with a 2-2 record. The two teams met each other during the round robin, with Aurora skating away with a 3-1 win.

Earlier in the evening, at the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards ceremony, a special presentation was made by Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League President, Marty Knack, to Nick Johnson of the St.Albert Saints (AJHL Junior Hockey League). Nick was the recipient of the RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award.

Nick, 18, has just completed a very successful 2nd season in the AJHL, capturing a series of league awards, including Most Dedicated Player.

Nick scored 35 goals and added 36 assists in 2003-04.

The 6’2, 180lb forward will be attending Dartmouth University in 2004-05 on an athletic scholarship.

Nick Johnson’s Highlights for 2003-04

GP – 51 G – 35 A – 36 PTS – 71 PIM – 33 PPG – 6 SHG – 4 GWG – 3

AJHL Most Dedicated | AJHL First Team All-Star

Ranked 65th by Central Scouting for the 2004 NHL Entry Draft

The RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award goes to the Canadian Junior "A" hockey player who has, during the 2003-04 season, best combined hockey skills and achievement with community involvement.

In addition to the Player-of-the-Year Award, six individual 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards and a national scholarship were handed out at the awards ceremony.

Winners were as follows:

Most Valuable Player– Kevin Dziaduck (Kindersley Klippers)

Top Scorer – Josh Welter (Grande Prairie Storm)

Top Forward – Scott McCulloch (Grande Prairie Storm)

Top Defencemen – Kyle Radke (Grande Prairie Storm)

Top Goaltender– Chris Whitley (Aurora Tigers)

Most Sportsmanlike Player – Grant Clitsome (Nepean Raiders)

RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Scholarship National Winner – Adam Kinnaird (Fort Saskatchewan Traders)

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: