Hockey Canada Network |
News
Team Canada Beats Slovakia 2-1 in Semi-Final and Advance to Gold Medal Game on Sunday at 2004 IIHF Men's World Championship in Prague
NR.052.04
|
May 8, 2004
|
|

PRAGUE – Team Canada advanced to the gold medal game of the 2004 IIHF Men’s World Hockey Championship after beating Slovakia 2-1 on Saturday. Canada will once again play Sweden in the gold medal game, after beating them in last year’s event in overtime in Finland. Canada also played Sweden in the gold medal game (a three game series) at the 1997 event, which Canada won gold.

Canada’s record now stands at 6-1-1 at this year’s World Championship. Canada will try to win back to back World Hockey Championships, which has not been done by Canada since the 19 victories.

The 2004 IIHF Men’s World Championship gold medal, will take place on Sunday, May 9 at the Sazka Arena in Prague, Czech Republic. Game time is 8:15pm local time (2:15pm ET, 11:15am PT).

The official broadcaster of Hockey Canada, TSN/RDS, will have live TV coverage of Canada’s gold medal game on Sunday. Coverage will begin at 2 pm ET/11 am PT. Check local listings for complete details.

Daniel Briere and Shawn Horcoff scored Canada’s goals, while Roberto Luongo made 28 saves, including stonewalling three straight power play opportunities in the third period for Slovakia.

Sweden advanced to be Canada’s opponent in the gold medal game with a 2-0 win over USA in the other semi-final on Saturday evening.


For more information:

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

 

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: