Canada Adds Forward Kyle Calder to World Championship Roster
NR.039.02
|
May 1, 2002
|

KARLSTAD, SWEDEN – Canada's Men's World Championship team added forward Kyle Calder to its roster, Team Canada General Manager Lanny McDonald announced on Wednesday.

Calder established new career highs in goals (17), assists (36), points (53), penalty minutes (47) and games played (81) during 2001-2002, exceeding last season career marks. Played in the NHL's YoungStars Game during the 2002 NHL All-Star Break, recording one goal and an assist while being credited with a game high 14 shots on goal in Los Angeles on Feb. 1.

The native of Mannville, AB won a silver medal with Canada's National Junior Team at the 1999 World Junior Hockey Championship. At the 2002 World Championship, Calder will be joining Brad Ference and Brenden Morrow, who were teammates with Team Canada at the 1999 World Junior Championship.

Canada's roster now stands at 21 players (2 goaltenders, 7 defensemen and 12 forwards).

Canada (3-0-0) has won all three games they have played so far in this year's championship. Canada will play Germany on Thursday (2pm ET/11am PT); Switzerland on Friday (10am ET/7am PT) and Czech Republic on Sunday (1pm ET/10am PT). Eight of the 12 teams in the next round, which begins on Thursday, will qualify for the sudden-death quarter-final games, which will be played on Tuesday.

All of Canada's games are broadcast live on TSN/RDS, the official broadcaster of the CHA.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

   
Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca
   
Videos
Photos
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 5 – LLO 3 (Semifinal)
Calverley scored twice, and the Rangers advanced to play for gold.
Schedule
Close
Credit