Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada Will Face Russia on Friday, January 4th in Gold Medal Game at 2002 IIHF World Junior Championship in The Czech Republic
NR.001.02
|
January 2, 2002
|
|

PARDUBICE, CZECH REPUBLIC - Canada's National Junior team will face Russia in the gold medal game of the 2002 IIHF World Junior Championship on Friday January 4th. The game will be carried live on TSN/RDS with a 30 minute pre-game show beginning at 2:00pm ET / 12 noon MT / 11am PT, with puck drop at 2:30pm ET / 12:30pm MT / 11:30am PT.

The official web site of the CHA, www.canadianhockey.ca will be providing in-depth information during the gold medal game, including real-time scoring, enabling those at work to follow along ‘live'. www.canadianhockey.ca is also the place to ‘email your favorite player', where over 3,000 emails have been received and passed on to the players since December 25th.

Canada beat Switzerland by the score of 4-0 on Thursday in its semi-final match up. Led by Steve Ott's two goals, and solid goaltending in the Canadian net by Pascal Leclaire, the Canadians move on to the gold medal game on Friday.

Russia beat Finland in overtime in the other semi-final match on Thursday, by the score of 2-1.

Canada has won the gold medal ten times at the World Junior Championship, most recently in 1997. Canada has been the only country to receive a medal in each of the last three World Juniors (bronze in 2001, bronze in 2000 and a silver in 1999).


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada
403-777-4553
jlarose@hockeycanada.ca

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
klipscombe@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: