Hockey Canada Network |
Canada's Men's Olympic Hockey Team Roster Announced
December 15, 2001

TORONTO, ON - Wayne Gretzky, Executive Director of Canada’s 2002 Men’s Olympic Hockey team, announced on Saturday the roster that will compete for Canada at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, UT.

Gretzky, along with Assistant Executive Director Kevin Lowe, Head Coach Pat Quinn and the Canadian management and coaching staff announced 15 players on Saturday, which is in addition to the original eight players that Canada named on March 23rd, 2001.

The breakdown of the fifteen players named on Saturday was three goaltenders, four defensemen and eight forwards. The players named to Canada's 2002 Men's Olympic hockey team on Saturday were:

Goaltenders: Ed Belfour (Carman, MB), Martin Brodeur (Montreal, QC), Curtis Joseph (Keswick, ON)

Defensemen: Eric Brewer (Vernon, BC), Adam Foote (Toronto, ON), Ed Jovanovski (Windsor, ON), Al MacInnis (Inverness, NS)

Forwards: Theoren Fleury (Russell, MB), Simon Gagne (Ste-Foy, QC), Jarome Iginla (Edmonton, AB), Eric Lindros (Toronto, ON), Joe Nieuwendyk (Oshawa, ON), Michael Peca (Toronto, ON), Brendan Shanahan (Mimico, ON) and Ryan Smyth (Banff, AB)

The eight players announced on March 23, 2001 by Gretzky were:
Defensemen: Rob Blake (Simcoe, ON), Scott Niedermayer (Cranbrook, BC); forwards: Paul Kariya (Vancouver, BC), Mario Lemieux (Montreal, QC), Owen Nolan (Thorold, ON), Joe Sakic (Burnaby, BC) and Steve Yzerman (Nepean, ON)

"We are extremely excited and proud to name our roster of 23 players that will compete for Canada at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, " said Wayne Gretzky, Executive Director of Team Canada. "We are very fortunate in Canada to have the opportunity to choose from a pool of many great Canadian players, which made the decisions a difficult process. We believe that the group of players we have selected represents one of Canada’s greatest international hockey teams, and we look forward to competing this February."

"We have assembled a team with a mix of experience, youth, speed and talent, " said Kevin Lowe, Assistant Executive Director of Team Canada. "The players we have named today for our team will represent Canada proudly."

Canada's first game at the 2002 Winter Olympic Games will be February 15 vs. Sweden at the E-Center in Salt Lake City, UT. Canada has won a gold medal in men's ice hockey six times at the Olympic Games: 1920 Winnipeg Falcons, 1924 Toronto Granites, 1928 University of Toronto Graduates, 1932 The Winnipegs, 1948 Royal Canadian Air Force Flyers and the 1952 Edmonton Mercurys. Canada has also won four silver medals and two bronze medals at the Olympic Games in men's ice hockey.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: