2001 Royal Bank Cup set for Flin Flon, MB
May 4, 2001

FLIN FLON, MB – Flin Flon, MB will play host to the 2001 Royal Bank Cup, Canada's National Junior "A" Hockey Championship, from May 5-13, with the gold medal final game being televised nationally on TSN and on RDS.

Five teams are taking part in this year’s tournament: Les Panthères de St-Jerome from the Eastern region, the Weyburn Red Wings from the Western region, the Thornhill Rattlers from the Central region, the Camrose Kodiaks from the Pacific region and the host team, Flin Flon Bombers.

The teams will play round-robin games from May 5-10 with the top four teams qualifying for the playoff round. The semi-final games (first against fourth, second against third) will be held on May 12, with the Gold medal game scheduled for May 13th. All games will be played at the Whitney Forum.

The Gold medal game will be played at 3 p.m. CST (4 p.m. EST) on Sunday, May 13 and will be broadcast live across Canada on TSN and on RDS.

The individuals selected as the Player-of-the-Game from each team after every game in the tournament receive Player-of-the-Game medallions compliments of Royal Bank and the Canadian Hockey Association. Those chosen for the Player-of-the-Game awards in the championship final will receive Esquire watches, in addition to the individual award medallions.

Based on their individual performances during the six-day round-robin section of the 2001 Royal Bank Cup, six individual player awards will be presented.

The player judged by an independent panel as the outstanding performer will receive the Royal Bank Cup Most Valuable Player Trophy. Along with the Most Valuable Player Trophy, the individual will receive an MVP award package, including an ITECH equipment bag, and a sportswear package, compliments of ITECH Sports Products Inc.

The other individual awards include the Royal Bank Cup top scorer, best goaltender, most outstanding forward, best defenceman and most sportsmanlike player. Each player will receive a 2001 Royal Bank Cup Trophy and a sports package courtesy of ITECH Sports Products Inc. for their accomplishments.

Noteable alumnists who have played in previous National Junior A Hockey Championships include Rod Brind’Amour (Carolina Hurricanes), Scott Gomez (New Jersey Devils), Greg Johnson (Nashville Predators), Curtis Joseph (Toronto Maple Leafs) and Scott Pellerin (Carolina Hurricanes)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
2016 TELUS Cup - LSL 6 – LLO 2 (Bronze)
The Lions scored five times in the second period to win the bronze.
2016 MWU18C - USA 10 – CAN 3 (Bronze)
Bitten, Hall and Tippett scored, but Canada settled for fourth place.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 4 – SNB 1 (Gold)
Aidan Casey scored two to help the Rangers win their first TELUS Cup.
2016 TELUS Cup - NYR 5 – LLO 3 (Semifinal)
Calverley scored twice, and the Rangers advanced to play for gold.