Hockey Canada Network |
2002 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship Awarded to Renfrew and Arnprior, Ontario
March 26, 2001

ARNPRIOR, ON - The communities of Arnprior and Renfrew, ON, have been awarded the 2002 Esso Women's National Hockey Championship, the Canadian Hockey Association announced on Tuesday.

The 2002 Esso Women's Nationals will be presented by the Canadian Hockey Association, the Ontario Women's Hockey Association and the premier sponsors of the CHA: Esso, Air Canada, Bauer NIKE Hockey and Royal Bank Financial Group.

The 2001 Esso Women's Nationals in Summerside, PEI featured 12 members of Canada's National Women's Team which will be taking part in the 2001 IIHF World Women's Hockey Championship April 2-8 in Minneapolis, USA. Seven players from Team Canada's Silver medal winning entry at the 1998 Nagano Winter Olympics also took part as Alberta defeated Québec 1-0 in a thrilling final to capture the championship.

The Championship also showcases members of Canada's Under 22 National Team and players who starred in the 2001 Women's Under 18 Challenge in Trois-Rivières, QC. Other current and former Women's hockey stars who have taken part in this annual event over the years include Hayley Wickenheiser, Danielle Goyette, Geraldine Heaney, Stacy Wilson, France St. Louis and Angela James.

"Since their inception in 1982, the Esso Women's Nationals have played a major role in the promotion and development of female hockey throughout Canada and the world," said Bob Nicholson, President of the Canadian Hockey Association. "These players have brought credibility to hockey and serve as positive role models to youngsters who play for fun and excellence."

" As a premier sponsor of the CHA, Imperial Oil is pleased to sponsor the Esso Women's National Hockey Championships. By supporting hockey programs and events we believe we are contributing to the youth of our country in a meaningful way. We believe events such as the Esso Women's National Hockey Championship will provide unique experiences for youngsters in the community but also enable us to demonstrate the tremendous benefits the great game of hockey can produce for the players
who play; and for the fans who watch," said Todd Corradetti, Marketing Sponsorship Manager for Imperial Oil.

The Esso Women's Nationals have been held in Ontario on five previous occasions. The event was held in Brantford, ON in 19, Burlington, ON in 1988, Ottawa, ON in 1993 and in Mississauga, ON in 1999.

"We're excited about the opportunity to host the Esso Women's National Hockey Championship in 2002," said Fran Rider, Executive Director of the Ontario Women's Hockey Association. "Arnprior and Renfrew will be great hosts and we look forward to holding this event."

"On behalf of the 2002 Esso Nationals Host Communities, it is an honor for us to have been chosen as hosts of this prestigious event," said Glenn Arthur and Glen Goslin, Co-Chairmen of the 2002 Host Communities. "The people of Arnprior and Renfrew have proven their support of hockey over the years and we expect strong support from the entire community in creating an exciting atmosphere for the participating teams."

The tournament opens with two pools of teams playing a round-robin with the top three teams in each pool qualifying for the playoff round. The top teams in each pool receive a bye to the semi-finals. The Bronze and Gold medal games are played on the final day of the tournament.

Esso has been involved as the title sponsor of the Women's National Hockey Championship for the past six years.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 4 – STC 3 (OT)
Apr 24, 2014
Alexandra Poznikoff scored 4:21 into overtime to win it for the Thunder.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 2 - MJ 1
Apr 24, 2014
Michasiw’s 30-save shutout led the Mintos to the semifinals.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - MON 2
Apr 24, 2014
Weyburn wrapped up its preliminary games with its fourth win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - CHA 1
Apr 24, 2014
Harland had the winner to help the Young Nationals to the victory.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
Photo Credit: