Hockey Canada Network |
Forty Of Canada's Top Junior Hockey Players Invited to Canada's National Junior Team's Evaluation Camp August 3-10, 2000 In Calgary, AB
June 14, 2000

CALGARY, ALBERTA - Forty of Canada's top junior hockey players have been invited to Canada's National Junior Team's Evaluation Camp in August, 2000, the Canadian Hockey Association announced on Wednesday.

The players were selected by the CHA's Director of Scouting, Barry Trapp who saw over 180 hockey games last season in every area of Canada, evaluating players for the National Junior Team Program as well as the National Under 18 Program.

The camp roster includes eight players that claimed bronze medals with Canada's National Junior Team at the 2000 World Junior Hockey Championship: Maxime Ouellet, R-N (QMJHL), Jay Bouwmeester, MH (WHL), Barret Jackman, REG (WHL), Steve McCarthy, KOO (WHL), Dany Heatley, WISC (WCHA), Jamie Lundmark, MJ (WHL), Brandon Reid, VD (QMJHL) and Jason Spezza, MISS (OHL)

A ninth player, goaltender Brian Finley, of the OHL's Barrie Colts has already been part of the National Junior Team Program for two years and will not attend the 2000 Evaluation Camp due to other commitments.

The National Junior Team Evaluation Camp roster also includes:

  • 9 members of the 1999 National Under 18 Team which won gold at the 1999 Under 18 Four Nations Tournament in the Czech Republic: T. Bell, Boyes, Cammalleri, Hartnell, Harrison, Leclaire, Popovic, Schultz, and Stoll.

  • 12 members of the 1998 National Under 18 Team which also won gold at the 1998 Under 18 Four Nations Tournament in Slovakia: Beech, Foster, Jackman, Lupaschuk, Lundmark, MacKenzie, McCarthy, Morisset, Ouellet, Pyatt, Reynolds and Zigomanis

  • 18 players drafted by NHL teams: Auld (FLA), Ouellet (PHA), Jackman (STL), Lupaschuk (WAS), McCarthy (CHI), Reynolds (TOR), Sellars (ATL), Van Hoof (PIT), Beech (WAS), Cox (DAL), Jaspers (PHO), Krestanovich (COL), Lundmark (NYR), MacKenzie (ATL), Mapletoft (NYI), Pyatt (NYI), Thinel (MTL) and Zigomanis (BUF)

  • 15 players eligible for this month's 2000 NHL Entry Draft in Calgary, AB: T. Bell, Boyes, Cammalleri, Foster, Hartnell, Heatley, Krahn, Morisset, Reid, Schultz, N. Smith, T. Smith, Stoll, Torres and Williams

  • 6 players eligible for the 2001 NHL Entry Draft: Hamhuis, Harrison, Kobasew, Leclaire, Popovic and Spezza

  • 1 player eligible for the 2002 NHL Entry Draft: Bouwmeester

The team will get together from August 3-10 for a one-week evaluation camp in Calgary, AB with Head Coach Stan Butler of the OHL's Brampton Battalion and assistants Mike Kelly of the OHL's North Bay Centennials and Kevin Dickie of the CIAU's University of Acadia Axemen.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - SVK 1
Apr 20, 2014
Brendan Perlini’s two goals led Canada to a victory over the Slovaks.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 WU18C: CAN 5 - GER 2
Apr 19, 2014
Ryan Gropp scored with 5:36 to go to help Canada to its second win.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: