Hockey Canada Network |
The Fort Mcmurray Oil Barons Have Captured Their First Ever Royal Bank Cup
May 14, 2000

FORT MCMURRAY, ALBERTA - The Fort McMurray Oil Barons have captured their first ever Royal Bank Cup and National Junior A Hockey Championship with a 2-1 victory over the Rayside Balfour Sabrecats at the Thickwood Heights Arena in Fort McMurray, Alberta.

The first period was scoreless, although Fort McMurray carried the play, outshooting Rayside Balfour 16-5. Sébastien Laplante was flawless in net for the Sabrecats, making a number of spectacular saves.

Nevin Patterson rewarded his teammate at 1:21 of the middle frame, beating the Oil Barons' Brent Zelenewich with wrist shot. Fort McMurray's response came early in the third, as Nathan Roscychuk scored following a scramble in front of Laplante. And, at 8:01, Tyler Brough put the Oil Barons ahead with what proved to be the decisive goal. The Oil Barons held on from then on for a 2-1 victory.

The Oil Barons are the first host team to win the Royal Bank Cup since 1997, when the Summerside Western Capitals captured the Championship in PEI. Since this tournament format was adopted in 1985, the have been four other host teams who have won the title: Orillia, ON (1985), Vernon, BC (1990), Olds, AB (1994) and Summerside, PEI (1997).

Overall, Fort McMurray is the 6th Alberta team to capture the National Junior A Hockey Championship. British Columbia leads in this department with 8 titles, followed by Ontario with 7, Saskatchewan and Alberta with 6, Manitoba with 2 and PEI with 1.

The Royal Bank Cup championship game was broadcast live across Canada on TSN and RDS

The Royal Bank Cup is Canada's National Junior A Championship. Fort McMurray and the Oil Barons are the proud hosts of the Championship May 5-14, 2000 at Thickwood Heights Arena

For more information on the Royal Bank Cup, visit the Championship's official website at or the Canadian Hockey Association's official website at

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: