Hockey Canada Network |
Canada's Roster for the 2000 Men's World Hockey Championship
April 29, 2000

ST. PETERSBURG, RUSSIA - Cliff Fletcher, General Manager for Team Canada at the 2000 Men's World Championship held in St. Petersburg, Russia, announced a roster of 21 National Hockey League players that will represent Canada the Championship, April 29-May 14, 2000.

The roster is led by five players from the Vancouver Canucks: Adrian Aucoin, Ed Jovanovski, Todd Bertuzzi, Brendan Morrison and Peter Schaefer.

19 of the 21 Team Canada players have arrived in St. Petersburg, with the most recent additions: Jeff Finley and Jamal Mayers, both of the St. Louis Blues, arriving into town on Tuesday.

Canada currently has 2 open spots on their roster. Canada can declare and register up to 23 players during the preliminary round, and as IIHF rules state, can add up to five additional players after the preliminary round of the World Championship, for a total of 28.

Canada won it's first game in the Championship 6-0 over Japan on Saturday. Bertuzzi, currently the leading scorer in the Championship, had 3 goals and added an assist. Canada will play Norway on Monday, May 1st, and the Czech Republic on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2000.

Mike Sillinger of the Florida Panthers was named team captain, with Jovanovski of the Canucks and Steve Sullivan of the Chicago Blackhawks named as assistant captains.

Media requesting interviews with Team Canada coaches and/or players can contact Brad Pascall, Director, Communications for the Canadian Hockey Association. Pascall is with the team in St. Petersburg, and can be reached by leaving a message on his voice mail in Calgary, AB at 403-777-4556. This voice mail will be checked on a regular basis, and is the best way to reach him.

Media can also try calling Pascall at the team hotel: 7 812 356 4135, room 13022. Please note, that local time in St. Petersburg, Russia is 8 HOURS AHEAD OF EASTERN TIME (11 HOURS AHEAD OF PACIFIC TIME).

For the latest up to date information on the Men's World Championship and CHA development programs, please visit the official web site of the Canadian Hockey Association at

Team Canada Roster at 2000 World Hockey Championship

Fred Brathwaite (CAL); Jose Theodore (MTL)

Adrian Aucoin (VAN); Jeff Finley (PHO); Ed Jovanovski (VAN); Chris Phillips (OTT); Robyn Regehr (CAL); Patrick Traverse (OTT); Yannick Tremblay (ATL)

Todd Bertuzzi (VAN), Curtis Brown (BUF); Brad Isbister (PHO); Mike Johnson (TB); Trevor Letowski (PHO); Jamal Mayers (STL); Dean McAmmond (CHI); Brendan Morrison (VAN); Peter Schaefer (VAN); Mike Sillinger (FLA); Ryan Smyth (EDM); Steve Sullivan (CHI)

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: