Hockey Canada Network |
Air Canada Pacific Cup Schedule Set for Under-18 Competition Finland Replaces Russia in Four-Team Tournament
June 6, 1996

NELSON (B.C.) - Canada will face their American rivals and Japan will meet Finland on the opening of competition at the Air Canada Pacific Cup on Tuesday, August 13 in Nelson, B.C. The final will be challenged for on Sunday, August 18 at 7:30 pm in Nelson, B.C.

Canadian Hockey, Air Canada and the Ernie Gare Athletic Scholarship Society announced today the schedule for the Air Canada Pacific Cup, featuring national under-18 teams, in Nelson and Castlegar, B.C. from August 13-18, 1996.

The complete schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, August 13 - Japan vs Finland at 4 pm, Nelson; USA vs Canada at 8 pm, Nelson

Wednesday, August 14 - Finland vs USA at 4 pm, Nelson; Canada vs Japan at 8 pm,Nelson

Thursday, August 15 - Japan vs USA at 4 pm, Castlegar; Finland vs Canada at 8 pm, Castlegar

Saturday, August 17 - 3rd vs 2nd at 3:30 pm, Castlegar; 4th vs 1st at 7:30 pm, Castlegar

Sunday, August 18 - Bronze Medal at 3:30 pm, Nelson; Gold Medal at 7:30 pm, Nelson

Finland will be competing in their first Air Canada Pacific Cup, replacing three-time winner Russia, but they can also be considered as a favourite to win the 1996 competition.

"Finland's under-18 team tied Russia for first place in the medal round at the 1996 European U-18 Championship this past April, but took home second place because Russia had a better goals-for and goals-against differential," said Bob Nicholson, Canadian Hockey's senior vice-president of hockey operations.

"Their under-17 team lost 2-1 to Team Ontario in the gold medal game at the World Hockey Challenge in September, 1995," adds Nicholson. "There is no doubt that Canada, the United States and Japan will have their hands full with the European opponents."

Canadian Hockey will name the national under-18 team coaching staff shortly. The soon-to-be coaching team, along with Canadian Hockey's director of scouting Ray Payne, will announced their roster before the end of June. They will then take the team into the Father David Bauer Arena in Calgary for a pre-competition camp from August 7-10.

Only Canada and Russia, or the Soviet Union, has won the competition. The Soviets took the first title in 1991, with Russia claiming gold in 19. The Canadians were winners in 19. The Pacific Cup has been held only once outside Japan, and that was in 1994 when Mexico City welcomed international hockey.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: