2014 Esso Cup
Before Laura Fortino won gold at the 2014 Winter Olympics, gold at the 2012 Women’s World Championship and gold at the Women’s National Under-18 Championship, she was bringing home medals for the Stoney Creek Sabres.
Eight months before she helped Canada to its first-ever women’s U18 world championship, and four years before she was centralized ahead of the Sochi Olympics, Brigette Lacquette was part of the first team to win the Esso Cup.
A gold medallist with Thunder Bay in 2010, Michela Cava returned to the Esso Cup two years later as the Queens’ captain, leading the Ontario champions back to the gold medal game and picking up Most Valuable Player honours.
A CIS champion with the Université de Montréal, and a Winter Universiade gold medallist – as Team Canada captain – Deschênes was in on every goal her Northern Stars scored at the inaugural Esso Cup in 2009, totaling three assists.
Which region has won the most National Female Midget Championships? Who recorded the most points in an Esso Cup game? Who scored the fastest goal to start a game? Get the answers in the Esso Cup Guide & Record Book.
Armed with the league’s most potent attack, the Fraser Valley Phantom outscored its opponents by almost three goals a game, losing only once all season and claiming a third consecutive regular season championship.
Led by the league’s top two scorers, Chelsea Perepeluk and Emma Waldenberger, the Regina Rebels lost only three times and rode a 14-game season-ending winning streak to capture the SFMAAAHL regular season title.
The Mid Isle Wildcats earned points in eight of their final 10 games to finish tied with the Central Storm; thanks to a better goal differential the Wildcats claimed the P.E.I. Female Midget AAA Hockey League regular season title.
Led by the NBFMAAAHL’s four leading scorers, the Moncton Rockets scored 52 more goals than second-place Fredericton, losing only one game all season and running away with the league’s regular season title.
Metro Boston Pizza opened its season with eight periods of shutout hockey, and went on to concede less than a goal a game and sport a goal differential of 70 on its way to claiming the NSFMAAAHL regular season title.
The Pembina Valley Hawks rode a three-month undefeated streak to start its season – and held off late challenges from the Winnipeg Avros and Westman Wildcats – to claim the MFMHL regular season championship.
The league’s most potent offence and a stingiest defence propelled the Edmonton Thunder to undefeated streaks of seven and eight games and past the Highwood Raiders and another AMMFHL regular season title.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 2 - SUD 1
Apr 20, 2014
Jenica Whitrow scoredwith less than two minutes to play to winit for Weyburn.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 1 - FRA 0
Apr 20, 2014
Jessica Healey scoresthe game’s only goal as the Thunder winsits opener.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 8 - MON 1
Apr 20, 2014
Sixteen players goton the score sheetas the hosts coastedto an opening win.
Photo Credit: