2010 Esso Cup

Edmonton Thunder  3 -  Moncton Rockets  2



REGINA, Sask. – The first shootout of this year’s Esso Cup had fans on the edges of their seats Thursday morning, as five players from the Rockets and the Thunder took turns firing the puck one-on-one with the opposing team’s goalie before Heather Kashman (Edmonton, Alta.) was finally able to secure a spot in the semifinals for the Pacific representatives.

2010 Esso Cup Media Gallery

But despite the best efforts of the underdog Rebels, the Notre Dame Hounds were the ones to come out on top of this longstanding and heated rivalry, capping off the 4-2 matchup with an empty net goal by Brienna Gillanders (Kyle, Sask.) with just two seconds remaining in the game.

Not even five minutes of four-on-four overtime yielded a winner, with both teams scrambling to put the puck in the net before time ran out on the clock. Although regulation time ended in a tie, the matchup kicked off with the Thunder taking an early lead.

Rachel Johnson (Edmonton, Alta.) opened the scoring just minutes into the game, with help from Alison Campbell (Edmonton, Alta.) and Laura Bennett (Edmonton, Alta.). Riana Magee (Edmonton, Alta.) followed up with the Thunder’s second marker four minutes later, on an assist from Johnson.

But the action on the ice quickly moved in favour of Atlantic representatives the Moncton Rockets, with Janik Robichaud (Dieppe, N.B.) scoring two goals within less than a minute of each other, including one on a power play, to tie the game up at two going into the intermission.

The exciting opening period couldn’t be matched by the second and third, with neither team able to put the puck past the goal line over 40 minutes of play. Neither team could capitalize on loose pucks in front of the net, with goaltenders Morgan Glover (Edmonton, Alta.) and Pascale Daigle (Moncton, N.B.) both standing their ground and sending the game into OT.

In the end, though, it was Edmonton’s game, with Kashman’s Thunder teammates storming her in celebration at the end of the shootout. Jessica Sekulic (Edmonton, Alta.) was named Player of the Game for the winning team, while blueliner Monika Cormier received the honour for Moncton.


Game Information
Game Number 13  Round Round Robin
Arena Co-operators Centre at Evraz Place City, Country Regina, Sask., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/22/2010 Time (local) 09:30 AM CT
Attendance 144 Game Status Final in Shootout

Box Score   1     2     3   OT1 SO Total
Edmonton Thunder (PAC) 2 0 0 0 1 3
Moncton Rockets (ATL) 2 0 0 0 0 2
First Period
   02:00 PAC 9 Jessica Sekulic (17 Rachel Johnson, 22 Alison Campbell)
   06:05 PAC 11 Riana Magee (17 Rachel Johnson)
   19:00 ATL 11 Janik Robichaud (14 Becky Bowes, 32 Schyler Campbell) PP
   19:43 ATL 11 Janik Robichaud (22 Chelsea MacNeil, 5 Brittney Letourneau)

   06:44 ATL 4 Josée Léger (Tripping)
   09:42 PAC 10 Caitlin Connell (Roughing)
   10:28 ATL 11 Janik Robichaud (Bodychecking)
   18:22 PAC 10 Caitlin Connell (Kneeing)

Second Period

   06:13 ATL 19 Josée Cormier (Interference)
   14:05 ATL 4 Josée Léger (Hooking)

Third Period

   00:08 PAC 7 Stephanie Zvonkovic (Bodychecking)
   00:33 ATL 11 Janik Robichaud (Roughing)
   07:08 PAC 4 Heather Kashman (High Sticking)

Edmonton Thunder
31 Morgan Glover On 1/00:00   Off 1/20:00
Moncton Rockets
20 Pascale Daigle On 1/00:00   Off 1/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   OT1 Total
Edmonton Thunder 13 6 13 3 35
Moncton Rockets 14 6 13 3 36

Shootout Summary
Player Goaltender Goal/Save
11 Janik Robichaud
(Moncton Rockets)
31 Morgan Glover
(Edmonton Thunder)
12 Cassidy Delainey
(Edmonton Thunder)
20 Pascale Daigle
(Moncton Rockets)
96 Gabrielle Poirier
(Moncton Rockets)
31 Morgan Glover
(Edmonton Thunder)
21 Kirsten Reeves
(Edmonton Thunder)
20 Pascale Daigle
(Moncton Rockets)
18 Katherine Richard
(Moncton Rockets)
31 Morgan Glover
(Edmonton Thunder)
4 Heather Kashman
(Edmonton Thunder)
20 Pascale Daigle
(Moncton Rockets)

Player of Game
Edmonton Thunder 9 Jessica Sekulic
Moncton Rockets 9 Monika Cormier
Referee Melodie Boulet
Lines People Hauley Wieler, Michelle Stapleton
Goal Judge Al Schaefer, Gerry Filteau
2016 Esso Cup - RMR 3, SAS 0 (Bronze Medal)
Kate Lloyd made 18 saves to lead the Raiders to the bronze medal.
2016 Esso Cup - BFD 10, RIC 3 (Gold Medal)
The Ice Cats beat the Express to become the 2016 Esso Cup champions.
2016 Esso Cup - RIC 4, RMR 3 (SO) (Semifinal)
Élöise Dubé and Joannie Garand scored in the shootout once again.