2010 National Midget Championship

St. John's Fog Devils  5 -  Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard  4


LÉVIS, QUE. – It was the Zach O’Brien show during the first game of Super Sunday at the 2010 TELUS Cup.

O’Brien, the St. John’s native who was named top forward at this event, scored his eighth, ninth and 10th goals of the week to lead St. John’s to a 5-4 win over the Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard in the bronze medal game on Sunday.

O’Brien took the game over in the second, with three goals in less than seven minutes. He also had an assist in the first period, as Marcus Power (St. John’s, N.L.) opened the scoring for St. John’s. The Gaulois tied the game at 12:28 when captain Alexandre Lemieux (Beloeil, Que.) jammed home a loose puck.

O’Brien’s first goal of the second came at the 53-second mark and made it 2-1 but Antoine-Girouard tied it up again, this time on a goal by Sébastien Sylvestre (Boucherville, Que.). Thirty-one seconds later, O’Brien sniped his second of the game.

Guillaume Mollicone (Boucherville, Que.) scored for the Gaulois to make it 3-3. But the Fog Devils regained the lead when O’Brien skated into the slot and picked a corner, beating Julien Giroux (St-Eustache, Que.). Dylan Brake (St. John’s, N.L.) blasted a shot from the point to give St. John’s a 5-3 lead, which the Fog Devils took into the third period.

Dominic Beauchemin (Varennes, Que.) scored in the third period

The bronze medal is the second for St. John’s in the history of the National Midget Championship. The team also placed third at the 2003 tournament. St. John’s win also ended a 12-year streak of Quebec teams winning a medal at the National Midget Championship.


Game Information
Game Number 18  Round Bronze Medal
Arena Aréna de Lévis City, Country Lévis, Que., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/25/2010 Time (local) 10:00 AM ET
Attendance Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
St. John's Fog Devils (ATL) 1 4 0 5
Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard (QUE) 1 2 1 4
First Period
   04:03 ATL 8 Marcus Power (9 Zach O’Brien, 10 Cody Squires) PP
   12:28 QUE 20 Alexandre Lemieux (55 Francis Lambert-Lemay, 9 Olivier Jodoin) PP

   02:51 QUE 19 Marc-Olivier Phaneuf (Interference)
   04:57 QUE 9 Olivier Jodoin (Interference)
   06:35 QUE 16 Marc-Olivier Brouillard (Checking from Behind)
   06:35 QUE 16 Marc-Olivier Brouillard (Game Misconduct)
   10:56 ATL 12 Danny Wicks (Interference)
   15:25 QUE 17 Cédric Leblanc (Interference)
   19:12 QUE 10 Sébastien Sylvestre (Roughing)
   19:12 QUE 24 Dominic Beauchemin (Tripping)
   20:00 ATL Team (Holding)

Second Period
   00:53 ATL 9 Zach O’Brien (8 Marcus Power, 18 Rodney Mahoney) PP
   02:21 QUE 10 Sébastien Sylvestre (4 Alexandre Bergeron, 24 Dominic Beauchemin)
   02:52 ATL 9 Zach O’Brien (10 Cody Squires)
   05:50 QUE 12 Guillaume Mollicone (4 Alexandre Bergeron) PP
   07:39 ATL 9 Zach O’Brien (8 Marcus Power)
   09:43 ATL 3 Dylan Brake (12 Danny Wicks, 15 Justin Walsh)

   04:28 ATL 3 Dylan Brake (Kneeing)
   07:42 QUE 24 Dominic Beauchemin (Slashing)
   09:26 QUE 17 Cédric Leblanc (Roughing)
   13:44 QUE 9 Olivier Jodoin (Inter. on Goaltender)
   18:28 ATL 16 Mike Cole (Cross Checking)
   19:27 ATL 8 Marcus Power (Hooking)

Third Period
   07:16 QUE 24 Dominic Beauchemin (17 Cédric Leblanc)

   04:27 QUE 17 Cédric Leblanc (Tripping)
   09:24 QUE 9 Olivier Jodoin (Interference)
   13:03 QUE 18 Etienne Dufresne (High Sticking)
   20:00 QUE 17 Cédric Leblanc (Roughing)
   20:00 QUE 24 Dominic Beauchemin (Cross Checking)
   20:00 QUE 17 Cédric Leblanc (Game Misconduct)
   20:00 QUE 24 Dominic Beauchemin (Game Misconduct)

St. John's Fog Devils
31 Scott Bray On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard
30 Julien Giroux On 1/00:00   Off 2/09:43
35 Jean-Christophe Roy-Boulet On 2/09:44   Off 3/18:42

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
St. John's Fog Devils 20 11 5 36
Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard 11 10 13 34

Player of Game
St. John's Fog Devils 8 Marcus Power
Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard 10 Sébastien Sylvestre
Referee Alexandre Cote
Lines People Jean-Francois Lafferriere, Daniel Dubois