2015 RBC Cup
The Portage Terriers put themselves among the best teams in MJHL history in 2014-15. The 2015 RBC Cup hosts went 53-3-4, had a ridiculous +165 goal differential, posted three winning streaks of at least 13 games, and set a league record for fewest losses.
The Melfort Mustangs were good at pretty much everything, winning their first SJHL regular season title. The Mustangs had the league’s No. 2 home record, No. 1 road record, No. 2 offence and No. 1 defence, along with the leading scorer and top goaltender.
Another year, another AJHL regular season title for the Spruce Grove Saints. The Saints won their fifth league crown in the last seven years by finishing in the top two in goals for, goals against, power play, penalty kill, home record and road record.
In a league known for its offence – nine players scored at least 100 points and the leading goal scorer finished with 83 – the Cougars de Sherbrooke earned the LHJQ regular season title with shutdown defence and a stellar 22-3-2 record on home ice.
The Penticton Vees didn’t have a player in the top 40 of BCHL scoring, but that didn’t matter. The Vees allowed 46 fewer goals than any other team, and used a league-best 13-game winning streak to finish 14 points up on second-place Nanaimo.
No. 2 offence. No. 1 defence. No. 1 power play. No. 2 penalty kill. Two regulation losses in 27 road games. Fourteen straight wins to finish the season. The Aurora Tigers did it all, winning their first OJHL regular season title since 2006-07.
Which team has won the most National Junior A Championships? Which team scored the most goals in a game? How many RBC Cup alumni have played in the NHL? Get all the answers in the official RBC Cup Guide & Record Book.
Canada’s National Junior A Championship will return to Manitoba for the second time in six years when Portage la Prairie welcomes the 2015 RBC Cup, with the MJHL’s Portage Terriers playing host.
Photo Credit: