Canada 7 - USA 0

FOUR NATIONS CUP
NOVEMBER 6, 2002
KITCHENER, ONTARIO

Game Notes

In their first match up since the gold medal final at the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City, Canada beat arch-rival Team USA by the score of 7-0 on Wednesday at the 4 Nations Cup in Kitchener, ON.

In front of a sold out crowd of 5,371, Canada opened the scoring in the first period as Jayna Hefford was sent in all alone by Vicky Sunohara and beat USA goaltender Erika Silva with a hard wrist shot to the top corner at the 8:15 mark.

Shortly after Hefford's goal Lara Perks, who was playing in her first game with Canada's National Women's Team, broke down the wing and blasted a shot through Silva, giving Canada a 2-0 lead after one period of play. Canada out shot USA 14-8 in the first period.

In the middle frame, Cherie Piper increased Canada's lead to 3-0 as she followed up on her own shot and slid a puck past a surprised Silva. At the 4:27 mark, Canada took a 4-0 lead as Danielle Goyette put a puck into an empty net as Silva was taken out by a collision in front.

In the third, Cassie Campbell took advantage of a Silva mistake and pounced on a loose puck, putting Canada up 5-0 at the 3:38 mark. Hayley Wickenheiser gave Canada a 6-0 lead after banging in a Danielle Goyette rebound at 12:46. The goal came after a Silva made a pad save and Wickenheiser shot the puck into Silva's glove, which was over the goal line.

Kim St-Pierre recorded the shut-out for Canada.

Players of the Game:
CAN - Cherie Piper
USA - Trisha Dunn

Canada's next game is Thursday night at the Hershey Centre in Mississauga, ON when they face Sweden at 7:30pm (EST). Tickets are available for Thursday's Team Canada game at all Ticketmaster outlets or on-line at:

https://ticketing.ticketmaster.com/cgi/purchasepage_ca.asp?event_id=100035269D2AAF79

For all your 4 Nations Cup scores, features and photos, stay logged onto www.canadianhockey.ca.

TSN, RDS and WTSN are broadcasting two games at the 2002 Four Nations Cup.
Canada vs. USA - Wednesday, November 6, 2002 7:30PM (ET), 4:30pm (PT)
TSN/RDS will show this game on a Tape Delay at 12 midnight ET (9pm Pacific)
WTSN will show this game LIVE at 7:30pm ET, 4:30pm PT.
Gold Medal Game Sunday, November 10, 2002 4:00PM (ET), 1:00pm (PT)
WTSN will carry this game LIVE at 4pm ET, 1pm PT
TSN/RDS will show this game on a Tape Delay, Monday, November 11, 2002 (the next day) at 7pm ET, 4pm PT.
Check local listings for complete details (games and times are subject to change)

GAME SUMMARY

Box Score Canada

2

2

3

7

Box Score United States

0

0

0

0


First Period / 1re période

Scoring/Buts :
08:15 CAN Hefford (Sunohara, Dupuis)
10:41 CAN Perks (Apps, Piper)

Penalties/Pénalités :
Lori Dupuis Can (High sticking/Baton eleve) 5:51; Therese Brisson CAN (Elbowing/Donner du coude) 11:07; Kelly Stephens USA (High sticking/Baton eleve) 15:53; Therese Brisson CAN (Interference/Obstruction) 19:34

Second Period / 2e période

Scoring/Buts :
03:23 Piper (Pounder, Perks)
04:27 Goyette (Campbell, Brisson)

Penalties/Pénalités :
Natalie Darwitz USA (Holding/Retenir) 1:19; Cathy Chartrand CAN (Bodychecking/Mise en echec) 4:58; Gillian Ferrari CAN (High sticking/Baton eleve) 9:45; Jayna Hefford CAN (Bodychecking/Mise en echec) 12:47

Third Period / 3e période

Scoring/Buts :
03:38 CAN Campbell (Goyette, Pounder)
12:46 CAN Wickenheiser (Goyette, Campbell) PP/AN
19:15 CAN Kingsbury (Ouellette, Antal)

Penalties/Pénalités :
Courtney Kennedy USA (High sticking/Baton eleve) 12:04

Goaltenders Canada Kim St-Pierre
Goaltenders United States Erika Silva

   

First

Second

Third

Final

Shots on Goal by Canada

14

12

13

39

Shots on Goal by United States

8

9

9

26


Officials Referee Stephanie Normand
Officials Linesmen Geneviève Rouleau, Chris Pellerin

Attendance 5,371
For more information:
André Brin Director, Communications | Directeur, relations médias