Hockey Canada Network |
News
Roster Change Announced for Canada's National Junior Team
NR.164.12
|
December 21, 2012
|
|

HELSINKI, Finland – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), announced Friday that forward Charles Hudon of the QMJHL’s Chicoutimi Saguenéens will not be able to play for Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship due to an injury. Hudon will be replaced by forward Mark McNeill of the WHL’s Prince Albert Raiders.

McNeill, from Edmonton, Alta., represented Canada at the 2011 IIHF World U18 Championship in Crimmitschau and Dresden, Germany, and also played for Team Pacific at the 2010 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Timmins, Ont. McNeill was a firstround selection, 18th overall, of the Chicago Blackhawks at the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.

McNeill will join the team in Finland on Dec. 22, while Hudon will return to Canada on Dec. 23.

Canada’s National Junior Team will play a final pre-tournament game Saturday against Sweden in Helsinki at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT. The game will be broadcast on TSN and RDS. Check local listings for the time in your area.

Canada will open the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship on Dec. 26 against Germany, at 4:30 a.m. ET/1:30 a.m. PT.

For more information on the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_teamcanada.


For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557
abrin@hockeycanada.ca

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: