Hockey Canada Network |
2012 RBC Cup Award Winners Announced; Semifinals Set for Saturday
May 11, 2012

HUMBOLDT, Sask. – The 2012 RBC Cup, Canada's 42nd National Junior A Championship, held its awards banquet on Friday night at the Humboldt Uniplex. The recipients of all six individual awards were announced at the banquet.

The awards were based on the tournament's preliminary round, which ran from Saturday to Thursday.

The 2012 RBC Cup award winners are:

Most Valuable Player (Roland Mercier Trophy) – John Kleinhans (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Goaltender – John Kleinhans (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Forward – Andrew Johnston (Humboldt Broncos)

Top Defenceman – Troy Stecher (Penticton Vees)

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Tubby Schmalz Trophy) – Micky Sartoretto (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Scorer – Andrew Johnston (Humboldt Broncos)

In addition, Stouffville Spirit (Ontario Junior Hockey League) forward Christian Finch was presented with the 2012 RBC Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year award. A defenceman until the start of the 2010-11 season, Finch has settled right in at forward for the Spirit, taking home the OJHL scoring title this year with 104 points (37 goals, 67 assists), 18 more than any other Ontario leaguer. He was rewarded for his offensive efforts, taking home the OJHL MVP award and earning a spot on the league’s First All-Star Team.

Theodore Hannah of the Carleton Place Canadians (Central Canada Hockey League) was on hand in Humboldt to receive the RBC National Junior A Scholarship. Hannah was chosen from 10 finalists – one from each of the Canadian Junior Hockey League's member leagues – to receive the $5,000 scholarship.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarships were also handed out at the awards banquet. Established following the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, Alta. and contributed to following successful National Junior A Championships in Weyburn, Sask., Prince George, B.C., and Cornwall, Ont., these $500 scholarships are awarded to one graduating 20-year-old player from each of the five participating teams.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarship winners are:

Humboldt Broncos – Ryan Marshall

Penticton Vees – Kyle Beaulieu

Portage Terriers – Cody Kostecki

Soo Thunderbirds – Kris Barclay

Woodstock Slammers – Tim Campbell

After six days of preliminary round action, the semifinals are set for Saturday. In the early game at 2 p.m. MT, the host Humboldt Broncos (4-0) will face the Woodstock Slammers (1-3), while the Soo Thunderbirds (2-2) will face the Penticton Vees (2-2) in the late semifinal at 6 p.m. MT.

The semifinal winners will meet in Sunday’s championship game, which can be seen at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN2/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters (check your local listings). Both semifinals can be seen live via webcast through FASTHockey at Fans can watch all the action for free by following three steps:

STEP 1: Visit and sign up for a free FASTHockey account.

STEP 2: Like the RBC Cup on Facebook at

STEP 3: Just prior to the game, click the RBC Cup LIVE link on the RBC Cup Facebook page to watch.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Keegan Goodrich, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of media relations, will be on site at the 2012 RBC Cup and will be the media contact for interviews, information or photos. He can be reached at 403-519-5754 or

For more information on the 2012 RBC Cup, visit, or follow the tournament via social media at and

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: MON 5 - EDM 4
Apr 22, 2014
Faith Steeves netteda hat trip to leadthe Rockets to itsfirst win.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 1 - CHA 1
Apr 22, 2014
Goaltending stole the show as the Mintos and Grenadiers tied.
2014 WU18C: CAN 2 - RUS 3 (SO)
Apr 22, 2014
A shootout loss was still enough for Canada to clinch first in Group A.
2014 Esso Cup: WEY 3 - FRA 2
Apr 22, 2014
Caitlin Dempsey’st wo goals paced Weyburn past Fraser Valley.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - HFX 0
Apr 22, 2014
Longo a marqué deux fois pour procurer un premier gain aux Young Nationals.
2014 TELUS Cup: MJ 3 - OKA 3
Apr 22, 2014
Another tie for both the Generals and Rockets, this time a 3-3 game.
2014 ESSO CUP STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 – FRA 0
Apr 21, 2014
Sabres score twice on the power play to defeat Phantom Monday night.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 5 - MON 1
Apr 21, 2014
Karli Shell scored twice and added an assist in Sudbury’s 5-1 win.
2014 TELUS Cup: CHA 3 - OKA 4
Apr 21, 2014
Special teams was key as the Rockets and Grenadiers skated to a tie.
2014 TELUS Cup: PA 4 - TOR 1
Apr 21, 2014
Four different players scored to give the Mintos the first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 2 - MJ 2
Apr 21, 2014
The Generals scored twice in the third period to earn the draw.
Photo Credit: