Hockey Canada Network |
News
Canada's National Women's Under-18 Team to Play for Gold Medal at 2010 IIHF World Women's Under-18 Championship
NR.038.10
|
April 2, 2010
|
|

CHICAGO, Ill. – Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team has advanced to the gold medal game at the 2010 IIHF World Women’s Under-18 Championship following a 10-0 victory over Germany in semifinal action on Friday. Canada will face United States in the gold medal game on Saturday, April 3 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

The gold medal game, as well as the bronze medal game between Germany and Sweden (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT), can be seen live via webcast for just $6.99 through FASTHockey at www.fasthockey.com.

On Friday, Jessica Campbell (Melville, Sask./Pursuit of Excellence, Midget AAA) and Jillian Saulnier (Halifax, N.S./Toronto, PWHL) scored two goals each in the third period as Canada blanked Germany for the second time in six days. Campbell and Saulnier each added assists for three-point games, while Caitlin MacDonald (Winnipeg, Man./University of Manitoba, CIS) had a goal and two assists and Cassandra Poudrier (Lachenaie, Que./Laurentides, Midget AA) had three helpers.

Saturday’s game will mark the third-consecutive time Canada and the United States will meet for the gold medal at the IIHF World Women’s Under-18 Championship. The U.S. won the first two meetings, 5- in Calgary, Alta., and 3-2 in overtime last year in Füssen, Germany.

In the second semifinal of the day, the United States defeated Sweden 5-0.


For more information:

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4564
fdupont@hockeycanada.ca

Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427
mbell@hockeycanada.ca

   
 

facebook.com/hockeycanada

twitter.com/hockeycanada

youtube.com/hockeycanadavideos

Videos
Photos
Schedule
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: